Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This tasted wonderful - I LOVE brown sugar - but unfortunately I ended up with a not-completely-smooth texture even though I used a whisk during cooking. Another thorough whisking off the heat took care of that problem, and the pudding was just the right thickness while it was warm. After it cooled...it was much TOO thick. So I guess the amount of cornstarch used depends on whether or not you plan to eat this warm or store in the refrigerator. Next time I would follow the same cooking method I use for vanilla & chocolate puddings - mix the milk into the dry ingredients and cook until thick, THEN add the egg (tempered with a little of the hot milk) and continue cooking for another minute or so. Adding all of that butter seemed unnecessary - half of it was plenty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Just remember a rule of thumb for puddings...usually the ratio of cornstarch is 1Tbs to 1c milk. ALWAYS mix in cornstarch when liquid is cool. Eggs have to be brought up to temprature VERY SLOWLY. A secret to good butterscotch flavor is browning the butter first in a small pan. Make sure it's a pan with a thick bottom. You don't want it to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was very good, but I think it has a little too much cornstach in it. I used it as a pie filling, and once it sat in the refrigerator for awhile it was a bit too firm/rubbery in texture. Next time I make it I think I will cut the cornstarch down to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was pretty good. It definitely needs all the corn starch stated in the recipe. I followed other reviewers about putting in less, and it was not a smart idea. Don't leave your pudding alone with the eggs in it! Stir constantly, or your eggs are sure to curdle like mine did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I really like this recipe. I did not find it too sweet at all. I did not have any corn starch, and substituted flour. I think it would have been creamier with the corn starch. I also cooked it in the microwave. This was great served with cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
It was pretty good- there were LOTS of chunks in it... but I ran it through the blender quick and solved that, completely. It tasted kind of salty at the first bite, but after that it tasted better- so maybe it was just me not used to it.... but beware because of all the chunks... but they don't ruin it if you blend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Far too sweet. would not make again. Even my 9 & 11 year old daughters could not finish a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Too sweet for me, but my kids loved it (of course)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
this is delicious. i cut the cornstarch down to 1/4 a cup, and used a bit less sugar. i also used soymilk because i'm lactose intolerant- worked fine. i would recommend keeping a whisk handy. if it tries to lump, that'll take care of it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavymetalchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
good recipe. use more milk,a little less sugar and a little less cornstarch to improve this pudding. here's a helpful hint. I had my mixer handy and right after it thickened I beat it for about a minute with the mixer on medium speed. all the lumps disappeared and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States