Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I thought the taste was okay but my husband hated it. The lumps were too much for him and he just didn't like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I make puddings and custard on a regular basis, and NEVER have they turned out lumpy... until now. I mixed and wisked constantly and followed the reviews, but even then it was way too thick. Tasted good though, I wasnt going waste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
this got a little clump on me but was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I just made this. While it tasted great, it seemed that I cooked it forever and it never seemed to thicken enough. I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch like suggested. Next time I will try the full amount. I had no trouble with lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
delicious! i agree with some of the other reviews: i tempered the egg and reduced the cornstarch. everything else I eyeballed. in the end, I started to get a few lumps, but was able to mix them out easily with a hand-crank egg beater. seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I am big on sweets and I thought that this recipe had waaaaayyyy too much sugar. Next time, I will reduce it to 3/4 cup. I thought that the amount of cornstarch was alright, but 3/8 of a cup is difficult to measure, so I will use 1/3 of a cup next time. Also, I was suspicious of mixing the eggs with the sugar and milk before heating it up. Usually, when you make fillings or puddings, you heat the cornstarch, sugar, and milk until it boils and thickens, then mix half of the mixture with the beaten eggs very slowly while beating the eggs. Then pour it back into the pot with the remaining mixture and heat for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Made this for my husband who is a butterscotch pudding lover. I've made it twice and the first time it came out grainy. This time I added everything to the pot before cooking but it was still a bit grainy. Perhaps I'm not cooking it long enough? Not quite sure, but my husband ate the whole batch so it couldn't have been that bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! This pudding makes me wonder why I ever bought the powder packs at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This one's just OK. It tastes starchy and perhaps has too much cornstarch in it. I would increase the egg count by at least one and reduce the cornstarch to see if it'll set the same. People enjoyed it though (I used it in a trifle with devil's food cake chunks, butterscotch chips, and walnuts), and it made a pretty presentation against the dark chocolate cake in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
So good and easy to make. Used a wisk while making the pudding. Will try light brown sugar next time, dark was a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States