Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Oh my this is soooo good. I only had light brown sugar so that is what I used. Next time I make it I'm going to try and remember to buy dark brown sugar. The flavor is fabulous and my family flipped over this pudding. Easy to make. I doubled the recipe and used 5 T of cornstarch. Set up perfectly, it wasn't to thick and it wasn't to runny. Yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I reduced the cornstarch to 2 TBS and the consistency was perfect. I loved the flavor, though it was a bit sweet for my taste. While warm, it was smooth and creamy. The next day, after being refrigerated, it was still good, but had a grainy texture. This was my first time making pudding so maybe that is normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used 2T cornstarch--just right! I used 2/3 cup brown sugar--STILL too sweet!!! Yowza!!! And I used vanilla that I made with rum ... yum ... next time, 1/2 cup sugar will be plenty, I'm sure. ... ... ... And the next time, I did use 1/2 cup sugar and it was perfect! On strawberries ... yum ... hubby had his on blueberries and enjoyed that, as well. I did of course temper the eggs rather than adding them at the beginning. Not a lump to be found, just stirring with a wooden spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
wonderful butterscotch flavor. whisk to keep smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Had a pudding recipe that I lost years ago. Just finished making this and it tastes exactly like the one I used to make. (After reading the reviews, I did cut the cornstarch in half) Thank you so much for sharing! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was such a good recipe. I made it just like the recipe was written, and had no issues with it at all. I used a whisk to stir it and it turned out perfect. I did add a pinch of extra salt because I used unsalted butter, but those were my only changes. Thanks, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was very good. I converted the recipe to six servings and followed some suggestions from other reviewers. I mixed the dark brown sugar with only 3 TBSP of corn starch (conversion called for 1/2 cup + 1 TBSP) and the salt in a saucepan. Next I mixed in a combo of 1% milk and half & half and the beaten eggs. I stirred with a whisk until it was heated and thickened. It did take a while and I had started to wonder if I was going to have to find a way to mix in more corn starch without ruining it. But, no worries, it thickened nicely. We ate it warm and thought it was very good. Thanks Kittyann. I'm sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is absolutly the best tasting pudding. No lumps, not grainy, just smooth goodness. To cut fat and calories, I used fat free half and half, Splenda brown sugar and I can't believe it's not butter. All ending to a great result. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I put 3 tablespoons of butter in the pot first, and then added the sugar. I heated those together, and added a splash of the milk, then heated that til smooth and hot. Then I added the cornstarch and milk to the sugar, and then the eggs (per the recipe) I added good rum and vanilla at the end, and it came out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this exactly according to the recipe - holy COW this stuff is good! I can't believe so much flavor comes out of such simple ingredients! Mine did come out with a few lumps, will try combining the cornstarch with the cold milk before adding, and will also try making it with a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States