Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This recipe was really good, save for the fact that it was lumpy and way too sweet. Easy to make, but am disappointed in the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I doubled this recipe except I used only 4T of cornstarch and light brown sugar. I read all the reviews first and also browned the butter as one reviewer suggested for a deeper flavor. I mixed everything together before heating it up and added the cornstarch with the sugar and salt. I stirred it frequently and ended up with a smooth, lump-free pudding. Many reviewers thought the sugar was excessive, but I did not. It was good, just not great. I wanted a darker, deeper, richer flavor and I think that's where the dark brown sugar will come in. Perhaps even some molasses. Better of course than a box but fell short of my expectations. My own fault for not having/using dark brown sugar and/or molasses. I'm thinking even cooking/browning the sugar as a separate step to carmelize it further for a darker, richer even almost smoky flavor would really put this over the top. I will make it again in the future and report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
It was a good consistency, but didn't really have the butterscotch flavor I was looking for. Also, was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Flavor was perfect, but it's powdery following the directions as written. I'm sure it's because of how much cornstarch the recipe calls for. I think I'll stick with the homemade vanilla pudding and maybe just change the sugar to dark brown if I want the butterscotch flavor again. Thanks for the good flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Oh my this is soooo good. I only had light brown sugar so that is what I used. Next time I make it I'm going to try and remember to buy dark brown sugar. The flavor is fabulous and my family flipped over this pudding. Easy to make. I doubled the recipe and used 5 T of cornstarch. Set up perfectly, it wasn't to thick and it wasn't to runny. Yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I reduced the cornstarch to 2 TBS and the consistency was perfect. I loved the flavor, though it was a bit sweet for my taste. While warm, it was smooth and creamy. The next day, after being refrigerated, it was still good, but had a grainy texture. This was my first time making pudding so maybe that is normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I used 2T cornstarch--just right! I used 2/3 cup brown sugar--STILL too sweet!!! Yowza!!! And I used vanilla that I made with rum ... yum ... next time, 1/2 cup sugar will be plenty, I'm sure. ... ... ... And the next time, I did use 1/2 cup sugar and it was perfect! On strawberries ... yum ... hubby had his on blueberries and enjoyed that, as well. I did of course temper the eggs rather than adding them at the beginning. Not a lump to be found, just stirring with a wooden spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
wonderful butterscotch flavor. whisk to keep smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Had a pudding recipe that I lost years ago. Just finished making this and it tastes exactly like the one I used to make. (After reading the reviews, I did cut the cornstarch in half) Thank you so much for sharing! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was such a good recipe. I made it just like the recipe was written, and had no issues with it at all. I used a whisk to stir it and it turned out perfect. I did add a pinch of extra salt because I used unsalted butter, but those were my only changes. Thanks, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States