Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Good recipe. Based on the prior reviews, I was a bit sceptical but had to jump in and try it. A few tips....I used yellow sugar instead of dark brown and measured 3/4 cup loosely packed. I decreased the butter to a 2-ish tbsp. To keep the lump-factor to a mimimum, stir with a slotted wooden spoon or whisk. Remove from the heat to add the vanilla and butter. Even if there are lumps, keep stirring/beating/whisking...most, if not all, should disappear. The addictiviness (?) of this pudding is HIGH so beware!! Thanks Mary Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Tastes delicious! I had to turn the heat up in order to get it to thicken, but other than that, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Wow! This is fantastic! Don't turn your back on it for a second though, or the cornstarch will lump. Came together very quickly and is almost gone now! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Although this was certainly very sweet, my biggest problem was too much cornstarch. I think the grit that someone else mentioned might be uncooked cornstarch. I even tried taking it up to a boil a second time, it was better but I could still feel the cornstarch. The reason why I gave it 4 stars was I remembered a tip. I added about 1/3 cup of Johnny Walker Red Label. I added with the vanilla and the taste was incredible. Next time I would reduce the cornstarch to about 2 or 3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I made this recipe twice, and both times it was WAY too thick. It is a bit too sweet also, but the main thing is cut down on the corn starch or you'll be making concrete. The butter and vanilla are nice touches, but even constantly stirring it clumped up and was way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
TOOO MUCH SUGAR! my teeth were screaming. Will try it again with 3/4 cup of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Way to much cornstarch and brownsugar for my taste. I had clumps of cornstarch in my pudding even though I stirred continuously. I cut back sugar to 2/3 cup and only used 2 tablespoons cornstarch for my second batch. Stir while cooking and bring to a boil, boil and stir one minute then add remaining ingredients. It turned out much better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
i messed this recipe up, i just cannot make butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This is delicious... really wonderful recipe and easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This recipe is just like my Mother-in-law used to make when my husband was a kid. So much better than store bought and worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States