Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
too much corn starch but otherwise pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Youngtown, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
My mom's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENSOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I didn't have Dark Brown sugar, so I subtracted around 2 TBSP and added molasses. Like the other reviewer I only used 2TBSP corn starch which I stired into the sugar throughly before adding any liquid. It thickened up beautifully and hubby loved it! I'll use this easy recipe again and again THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Lumps, lumps, and more lumps....tasty, but man there were a lot of lumps!!! I stirred it for a good 20 minutes straight and it was still lumpy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
Wonderful recipe. My husband raved about it saying it was definitely butterscotch and so much better than the box. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I may have messed this up. Due to other reviews, I used 3/4 cup sugar instead of a full cup - but I only had light brown. I couldn't wait to try it, so I did. It did get lumpy, so next time I will try the trick of heating up ALL the ingredients minus some of the liquid and the cornstarch. Hopefully it won't lump then. I may also use just 1/4 cup of cornstarch; it just seemed a little thick to me. It didn't taste lik butterscotch, but I really think it's because I used the wrong sugar. It tasted good, but it was still a little over-sweet. I'll come back on and let you know how the next batch goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLASHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Good recipe. Based on the prior reviews, I was a bit sceptical but had to jump in and try it. A few tips....I used yellow sugar instead of dark brown and measured 3/4 cup loosely packed. I decreased the butter to a 2-ish tbsp. To keep the lump-factor to a mimimum, stir with a slotted wooden spoon or whisk. Remove from the heat to add the vanilla and butter. Even if there are lumps, keep stirring/beating/whisking...most, if not all, should disappear. The addictiviness (?) of this pudding is HIGH so beware!! Thanks Mary Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Tastes delicious! I had to turn the heat up in order to get it to thicken, but other than that, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Wow! This is fantastic! Don't turn your back on it for a second though, or the cornstarch will lump. Came together very quickly and is almost gone now! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Although this was certainly very sweet, my biggest problem was too much cornstarch. I think the grit that someone else mentioned might be uncooked cornstarch. I even tried taking it up to a boil a second time, it was better but I could still feel the cornstarch. The reason why I gave it 4 stars was I remembered a tip. I added about 1/3 cup of Johnny Walker Red Label. I added with the vanilla and the taste was incredible. Next time I would reduce the cornstarch to about 2 or 3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States