Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
OK recipe. Very creamy, and rich, but lacking. Made it as directed, but tempered the eggs. In my opinion, it was good BEFORE the eggs. It thickened before adding them, so it would probably work fine that way. Anyway, finished product, in my husband's opinion was, "just something sweet."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as printed without reading any reviews. The thickness was just right and the flavor was awesome other than it was a tad bit too salty (and a salt shaker is one of my best friends). Mine did have little lumps and I would have preferred it smoother but I didn't wisk it. I stirred constantly. Next time I will try with a little less salt, and blend the conrstarch with a little bit of the cold milk before adding it to the pan to solve the lumpy problem and use a wisk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Laotto, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Pretty good. Had to make some alterations, but I was satisfied with it overall. I only had salted butter on hand, so I used that and just omitted the extra salt. I followed the suggestion of 2 Tb. corn starch, and it worked well. No lumps, but I was constantly whisking the mix and I broke up the lumps in the brown sugar/cornstarch before adding any liquid. Also added a splash of Buttershots liquor, and it didn't thin it out so I'll chalk that up for a success. Was a bit overwhelming in flavor, but this was my first attempt at making any flavor of pudding from scratch so that might be the reason. Or the liquor. Hm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I'm sure it's great, but I'm not a great cook and I read *every* single review and tweak of this recipe and it ended up so lumpy i thought it was tapioca. tried all the tricks and did not stop stirring for one minute. maybe i would try a lower temperature. I was using medium low and it took forever but lower might have made it less lumpy? no idea. great recipe i'm sure. just hard to figure out for a novice. great flavor. really strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANA128

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I thought the taste was okay but my husband hated it. The lumps were too much for him and he just didn't like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I make puddings and custard on a regular basis, and NEVER have they turned out lumpy... until now. I mixed and wisked constantly and followed the reviews, but even then it was way too thick. Tasted good though, I wasnt going waste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
this got a little clump on me but was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I just made this. While it tasted great, it seemed that I cooked it forever and it never seemed to thicken enough. I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch like suggested. Next time I will try the full amount. I had no trouble with lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
delicious! i agree with some of the other reviews: i tempered the egg and reduced the cornstarch. everything else I eyeballed. in the end, I started to get a few lumps, but was able to mix them out easily with a hand-crank egg beater. seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I am big on sweets and I thought that this recipe had waaaaayyyy too much sugar. Next time, I will reduce it to 3/4 cup. I thought that the amount of cornstarch was alright, but 3/8 of a cup is difficult to measure, so I will use 1/3 of a cup next time. Also, I was suspicious of mixing the eggs with the sugar and milk before heating it up. Usually, when you make fillings or puddings, you heat the cornstarch, sugar, and milk until it boils and thickens, then mix half of the mixture with the beaten eggs very slowly while beating the eggs. Then pour it back into the pot with the remaining mixture and heat for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States