Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was very good. I converted the recipe to six servings and followed some suggestions from other reviewers. I mixed the dark brown sugar with only 3 TBSP of corn starch (conversion called for 1/2 cup + 1 TBSP) and the salt in a saucepan. Next I mixed in a combo of 1% milk and half & half and the beaten eggs. I stirred with a whisk until it was heated and thickened. It did take a while and I had started to wonder if I was going to have to find a way to mix in more corn starch without ruining it. But, no worries, it thickened nicely. We ate it warm and thought it was very good. Thanks Kittyann. I'm sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is absolutly the best tasting pudding. No lumps, not grainy, just smooth goodness. To cut fat and calories, I used fat free half and half, Splenda brown sugar and I can't believe it's not butter. All ending to a great result. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I put 3 tablespoons of butter in the pot first, and then added the sugar. I heated those together, and added a splash of the milk, then heated that til smooth and hot. Then I added the cornstarch and milk to the sugar, and then the eggs (per the recipe) I added good rum and vanilla at the end, and it came out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEllen Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this exactly according to the recipe - holy COW this stuff is good! I can't believe so much flavor comes out of such simple ingredients! Mine did come out with a few lumps, will try combining the cornstarch with the cold milk before adding, and will also try making it with a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
HOLY YUMMO!!! I loved it! :) Did use flour in place of the cornstarch, had no problems with lumping, and also used light brown sugar as well. :) Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I wasn't too thrilled with this pudding. I've made chocolate and vanilla pudding numerous times in the past and loved them both but this recipe just didn't taste as good as I remember butterscotch pudding to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Became too lumpy but the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is my husband's account but I felt I HAD to comment! I have never before made homemade pudding. This was very easy to follow and the pudding turned out FANTASTIC! I didn't have any real butter but I used "I can't believe it's not butter" and I didn't notice a difference. It's rich and creamy and doesn't taste like premixed store bought pudding. I will definitely use this recipe again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrettRoss1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Tasty pie filling, I added sherry but wish I had added a bit more. Next time will try to add scotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breefolk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Good. But...it was way too sweet and I already reduced to 3/4 cup sugar. Next time I am going to try with 2/3 cup brown sugar and 2 tbs butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Pudding

See how to make delicious no-bake banana pudding from scratch.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States