Butterscotch Potato Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Unlike others, my cookies did not spread when baking. They were perfect and like most cookies, though I only bake with butter. (sometimes overbeating/creaming has caused my cookies to spread). I did substitute toffee chips (with the chocolate on them) for the butterscotch chips. They came out great, and the hint of chocolate was great. Also, they didn't seem to be as sweet as when I used the butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momsbasement
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
My cookies turned out thin and crispy and the dough melted and spread out in the oven while the butterscotch chips stayed mostly in the center. They aren't so much sweet/salty, although they have a good sweet flavor (I love the butterscotch). My kids couldn't get enough of them! I agree with another reviewer and think I might like them better if they didn't spread so much during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momsbasement

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Very good. Thought it would be more salty/sweet but really was more sweet. I will make these again but may add more potato chips. Very unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe nearly caused a stampede to our classroom. While not everyone gave them high marks, those who did felt they were our best cookie yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I wanted a cookie that was a little different and this sure did it. I liked the sweet butterscotch mingling with the salty potato chips. My only change if I made them again would be to substitute shortening for half the butter as my spread a little too much. But they taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caiti Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I woke up yesterday morning remembering a potato chip cookie that my mom last made probably 30 years ago. I did an ingredient search and couldn't believe a recipe was posted. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfectly -- just the way I remembered them. I took them to our family reunion and they were a huge hit -- at least two of my cousins asked for the recipe! These were a great hit, and my daughter told me I should quick working and just bake these every day. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Great cookie! I really hate when people totally change a recipe and then give it a 4 or 5 rating. In my opinion, a recipe should be rated on how good it is based on how it was written; but, having said that, I have made these cookies six times, and I have used a few variations. The first few times, I made them as written, and then I used chocolate chips instead of butterscotch & added some pecans I made a batch for my family, then 2 batches for work and they were all snapped up within a few minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I really, really liked this recipe! Quick and extremely easy to make, and with a really good tasting, not-too-sweet cookie as your end result. I particularly liked the fact that, though the recipe calls for real butter, you didn't have to refrigerate the dough before baking. I adapted the recipe to a half batch with no problems. The only thing I found I had to do differently was modify the baking time a bit: I cooked them for about 11 minutes on a parchment paper-lined sheet, and they turned out beautifully. My entire family loved these cookies, and I will definitely make them again. Thanks so much, Arlene! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
These cookies are nothing to write home about their are not good or bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
These cookies were interesting. Quick and easy to make but I don't think I'd make them again with the butterscotch chips. The butterscotch is a little too sweet so it overwhelms the salty taste. Maybe something like semisweet chocolate chips would make it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States