Butterscotch Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
it tastes like a heath bar. made this for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by otter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Glenda,Thank you for this recipe! I have been looking for a butterscotch pie that was like my mom's, and as one of the other reviewers commented, you have to "caramelize" the WHITE sugar to get a real butterscotch taste. Thank you again!!! MRSN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have been trying to make a butterscotch pie for my 96 year old father that tasted like the ones his mother made for him. I finally found this one! All the other recipes I tried were made with brown sugar and didn't have that true butterscotch flavor you get from caramelizing the sugar with the butter and cream. It took about 15 minutes of stirring to get that nice brown color, but it was well worth the time. The filling set up nicely overnight in the refrigerator and sliced into nice pieces. My father and I both thank you for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Where is the brown sugar that gives butterscotch the butterscotch flavor. Somebody forgot something. This is not a butterscotch pie recipe. It got one star because I had to give it something to get out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I think the other reviewers are not familiar with what a traditional butterscotch pie is. This is it! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This is the lowest stars, but if there was a zero, I'd put that. As well as the other persons, I did NOT taste any form of butterscotch whatsoever. And it was like custard pie and really runny. It was also really sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This pie had absolutely no butterscotch flavor. It was basically a custard pie, so if you like custard pie this is a good recipe. However, if you're looking for butterscotch, look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
my family LOVED this pie. I will make this pie everytime I want something that tastes like butterscotch! You MUST BROWN THE SUGAR. If you don't cook the sugar long enough it will not taste like butter scotch. The sugar will look like a caramel brown when it is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I read the other review and was astonished. This was truly a butterscotch lover's pie. I'm not a baker so I had some difficulty "browning" the sugar. It was excellent. No need to worry about leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
NO ONE LIKED THIS PIE. iT DIDN'T TASTE ANYTHING LIKE BUTTERSCOTCH. WAS FLAVORING SUPPOSED TO BE ADDED BECAUSE IT WAS NOT WRITTEN IN THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States