Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Very good, perhaps a little too sweet. I made a double batch. The dough was too dry and crumbly, so I added an extra egg. The egg did the trick. I found it easier to form the dough into balls and flatten with the palm of my hand than to drop from a spoon. Works best if left to cool for a bit on the baking sheet before transferring to the cooling rack. I also use margarine, instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I looked through other people's reviews and used some ideas to make this better. I lessened the sugar by 1/4 C each. For the oatmeal I used Quaker Instant Oatmeal the individual packets; maple & brown sugar, cinnamon & spice, and regular. I thought it added to the flavor profile really well without sticking out. I also added some leftover pecan pie filling to the mix. Next time I will lower the amount of chocolate/butterscotch chips I use as they were pretty overpowering. I didn't find them too crumbly at all, as long as they sat a few minutes before I did anything with them. Overall, delightful. I could eat the batter by the spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This recipe is rather dry. I suggest doubling it and then adding an extra egg, or something like that. Beyond that, very good, very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Too sweet! I have a mad sweet tooth and even I was gagging a little. I modified the recipe only slightly by changing the shortening out for butter and followed the rest to the letter. Next time I will certainly reduce the sugar and half the chips, it really didn't need that many. Maybe adding some nuts might mix up the flavors. Too bad. Easy recipe :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
they tasted good , but they were very dry and would not hold together on the pan. i don't think i will make these again :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Just made and followed directions. Used a Silpat mat and had no problems with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made these & they were devoured. Super easy to make & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I have had the worst time with these cookies. I have to make them really small or they fall apart. They're much too sweet so definitely need less chips. I wish I had followed some of the other reviews and used less oats. I won't make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
the proportions on the ingredients are all wrong. They were very crumbly as dough and came out very hard in the oven. I will be sticking to the recipe on the bag of butterscotch morsels from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I added less sugar (skipped the white sugar), used real butter, an extra egg, and 1 cup less of oats, and as well cut down the sweet chips by half, as less sugar is better for us, and I added a handfull of raisins. They remind me of Granny's oatcakes from Scotland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States