Butterscotch Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I just thought these little slices of heaven were soo scrumdiddliumptious! It was orgasmic and like a dream in my mouth. It was the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I just tried the exact same recipe out of my mom's 1963 Cooky book. (Yep that's how it was spelled 50 years ago.) I came on here to see if there was anything better because mine look like regular cookies in the middle and the nice stuff on the outside. I didn't have a teaspoon to actually measure so this is probably my problem. I also didn't use molasses. After the first batch I took smaller scoops and patted them flatter. Looking better that way, but I'll try to be more accurate next time. Also in the same book, it later describes that there is a certain stage after baking where the cook(y)s are soft enough and strong enough to roll around something. Makes for a very nice presentation; the kind of very special cookie people would look forward to at Christmas time! Oh and I forgot to add that parchment paper was a lifesaver. My spatula squished some of the beautiful crispy crumble, but parchment paper made it so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
BEST COOKIES IN THE WORLD!!! I had rated them before but they didn't turn out right. Three words...NON-STICK PARCHMENT PAPER. Made all the difference in the world. I followed the recipe exactly, but used the parchment paper this time. Oh, and instead of stirring all the ingredients together, I used a mixer the second time. Made for a prettier cookie. They still look a bit greasy at first, but the longer they sit, this will go away... if you can wait that long. The crunchy edges are wonderful. With the parchment paper, they lift right off the paper...no spatula needed to break the fragile edges. They MUST sit and cool before you remove them from the pan. It only takes 2-5 minutes for the to harden. I wouldn't try these without the parchment paper again. Not a recipe for beginners, but as long as you follow the directions and time them just so, they are PERFECT! Best cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I've had this recipe for many years and just tried it again since many years. I remember them as great tasting. They flopped....I don't know what I did wrong. I tried it on parchment paper, plain metal cookie sheet, same thing. The butter/liquid portion separated and I was left with a lump of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Fabulous recipe. I made it last fall for work and have been requested to make it every time since. I have substituted all sorts of gluten-free flours for the all-purpose flours and they've been tasty. (All sorts include sweet rice, brown rice, pre-toasted quinoa, lentil, garbanzo, teff, and millet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was the best oatmeal cookie I have had. To make it a little healthier I used sucant (dried cane juice) instead of brown sugar and I used spelt flour instead of all-purpose white flour. The cookies spread out quite a bit while cooking so right when they came out of the oven I gently pushed the spreaded out parts toward the center. I had no problem with them sticking to the cookie sheet. When they had cooled they held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
these are sooooooo good, I have made them for parties and gifts and they always disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I used dark brown sugar so I eliminated the molasses. I'm glad I had a silicone sheet to use, so they didn't stick, but they look like they could have stuck a lot on an unprotected cookie sheet. The taste was just so-so, very crisp and rather candy-like lacy edges, but the center tastes just like oatmeal with brown sugar on it. I dunno, I just expected it to taste yummier somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Pretty good cookie! Very delicate and candy-like. I wouldn't recommend making them in a case where they have to be transported, as they are thin and break easily. They're nice crumbled over ice cream or yogurt or served whole with coffee or tea for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Don't be fooled! This recipe will make you a plethora of cookies! I expected three dozen, but it made closer to 12 dozen. I made mine with Quaker quick oats. Yes, cookies start out very tiny - a level teaspoon - they spread dramatically. Tip: if cookies end up touching, wait until cooled to break apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States