Butterscotch Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
BEST COOKIES IN THE WORLD!!! I had rated them before but they didn't turn out right. Three words...NON-STICK PARCHMENT PAPER. Made all the difference in the world. I followed the recipe exactly, but used the parchment paper this time. Oh, and instead of stirring all the ingredients together, I used a mixer the second time. Made for a prettier cookie. They still look a bit greasy at first, but the longer they sit, this will go away... if you can wait that long. The crunchy edges are wonderful. With the parchment paper, they lift right off the paper...no spatula needed to break the fragile edges. They MUST sit and cool before you remove them from the pan. It only takes 2-5 minutes for the to harden. I wouldn't try these without the parchment paper again. Not a recipe for beginners, but as long as you follow the directions and time them just so, they are PERFECT! Best cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Olive Andtheroaddog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Fabulous recipe. I made it last fall for work and have been requested to make it every time since. I have substituted all sorts of gluten-free flours for the all-purpose flours and they've been tasty. (All sorts include sweet rice, brown rice, pre-toasted quinoa, lentil, garbanzo, teff, and millet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Delicious, delicate and crispy. Added these to my Christmas cookie line up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenica Roenneburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
These are awesome cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I've had this recipe for many years and just tried it again since many years. I remember them as great tasting. They flopped....I don't know what I did wrong. I tried it on parchment paper, plain metal cookie sheet, same thing. The butter/liquid portion separated and I was left with a lump of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
these are sooooooo good, I have made them for parties and gifts and they always disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I just thought these little slices of heaven were soo scrumdiddliumptious! It was orgasmic and like a dream in my mouth. It was the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was the best oatmeal cookie I have had. To make it a little healthier I used sucant (dried cane juice) instead of brown sugar and I used spelt flour instead of all-purpose white flour. The cookies spread out quite a bit while cooking so right when they came out of the oven I gently pushed the spreaded out parts toward the center. I had no problem with them sticking to the cookie sheet. When they had cooled they held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I just tried the exact same recipe out of my mom's 1963 Cooky book. (Yep that's how it was spelled 50 years ago.) I came on here to see if there was anything better because mine look like regular cookies in the middle and the nice stuff on the outside. I didn't have a teaspoon to actually measure so this is probably my problem. I also didn't use molasses. After the first batch I took smaller scoops and patted them flatter. Looking better that way, but I'll try to be more accurate next time. Also in the same book, it later describes that there is a certain stage after baking where the cook(y)s are soft enough and strong enough to roll around something. Makes for a very nice presentation; the kind of very special cookie people would look forward to at Christmas time! Oh and I forgot to add that parchment paper was a lifesaver. My spatula squished some of the beautiful crispy crumble, but parchment paper made it so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States