Butterscotch Ice Cream Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good flavor, but turned to sugar very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I give this five stars for taste but mine turned more caramely when boiled for three minutes. I would make it again but I would decrease boiling time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I just made this to go on top of bread pudding for tonight's dessert and dinner can't come soon enough! I only boiled this for 2 minutes because I was afraid of the sauce solidifying like another reviewer mentioned. It smells and tastes delicious! **Update 4/05/14** This sauce is still perfect as is and I make it all the time, but I've started adding a tsp of vanilla and a pinch of sea salt or kosher salt as soon as I take it off the heat. This sends the sauce over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made with dark brown sugar & unsalted butter. Would have been better with light brown, and salted butter. Did recipe exactly as written. It had a burnt sugar taste which is nice, but not exactly butterscotch. Was very thin still while warm, but gets quite thick when cold or over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Yummy! I followed the recipe as is and it is delicious. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was amazing! It was so simple to make to. I had some heavy whipping cream in the fridge that needed to get used, and came across this recipe. I have tried other butterscotch recipes that tasted more like caramel or just had an off taste. This was perfect in taste and pouring consistency (nice and gooey). It looked just like the picture. I used a large flat rubber spatula and stirred it from the beginning on 5 as directed. And, I counted the 3 minutes as soon as it started a slow boil in the center in hopes that it would help with the brown sugar melting and not being grainy. I then removed from the heat and stirred 1-2 more minutes, to cool slightly, before pouring into another container to cool. Great dessert topping recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very good but try adding just 1/2 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract for a flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Really easy and tastes great! Sometimes I add a teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlacierFreeze
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe for icecream topping. When you are tired of chocolate or want to use both you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Quick to make with nice rich flavor. I did not boil for the full 3 minutes as I wanted a softer product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States