Butterscotch Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These are very easy and quick to make. Very sweet, my family was torn on whether these were good or not. I thought they were okay, 2 of my kids like them and my hubby and 1 son not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I really liked these but without the marshmallows - the "mush" didn't work with the crunch for us. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These were good but not great. The butterscotch/peanut butter combo was wonderful but the marshmallows were a little weird to me texturally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wow, these are good. A big hit at our Christmas gathering. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I made it once per the recipe. It was okay, but I didn't care for the marshmallows or the intense butterscotch flavor, so I changed it up and did the following: Added half butterscotch chips and half semisweet chocolate chips. I substituted shoestring potatoes for the chow mein noodles because I LOVE and ADORE sweet/salty. I decreased the peanut butter to 1/2 cup and added finely-chopped hazlenuts. They are extra crunchy and good. No marshmallows. Sorry, just couldn't do it. These were really good, but I guess it turned out to be a whole new recipe. The photo is before they air-dried, so they are a little wet looking but still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe really took me by surprise. I didn't think I cared for butterscotch but it blended nicely with the peanut butter. The marshmallows and chow mein noodles gave it a nice texture. This is a recipe that I'm sure the grandkids will love! Thank you Nestle Toll House for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These are very easy and quick to make, and very good. Just be forewarned, they're addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I can't really say enough about a recipe that is so incredibly easy and tasty...yet still versatile. I'm not a big marshmallow fan, so I left those out and added in some peanuts. I also used crunchy peanut butter because that's all we had. I'd love to sprinkle in other fun stuff, like miniature chocolate candies or maybe cashews, as suggested by another reviewer. I'm putting these in cookie baskets for my husband's co-workers, so it's nice to have something easy that you know will taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
After making this batch twice, here's my advice...1. don't add 3 1/2 cups of marshmallows~~way to much and doesn't help the overall binding of the recipe, 2 cups is perfect. 2. the butterscotch/peanut butter mix, needs to cool slightly before for adding to the noodles and marshmallows, the marshmallows melted like crazy, making the recipe looks webby, hard to spoon out in small portions and not appealing...Suggestion: combine all ingredients, leaving out the marshmallows until all is combined then add to the mix so it ensures the marshmallows stay intack. My 1st batch was just horrible and followed it to a T, it resulted in not soo good or appealing treats and was disappointed at the marshmallow stringy-ness everywhere. 2nd batch way better as I made completely sure, to reduce the marshmallows, allowed the mix to cool a few minutes before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. With in mind you should have a successful batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These came out really good. I used mini mini marshmallows. I will use the regular mini ones next time as there were alot of marshmallows in this. Very sweet! But I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States