Butterscotch Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is really easy to put together, and it would be a great project for mom and a school-age child. Be warned though, it is very sweet and kind of messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I typically love butterscotch haystacks! This is the first time I have seen a recipe for it with the addition of marshmallows. I have to say I am not a big fan of the marshmallows in the recipe. This candy is very sweet and I think the marshmallows made it too sweet. I will stick with my standard recipe of adding cashews or mixed nuts in lieu of the marshmallows. They give a nice salty contrast to the sweetness of the butterscotch chips. This is also a great recipe to follow using chocolate chips instead of the butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Everyone loved these. I did not use the marshmallows, but did add a bit of milk chocolate chips for the last bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I cut this recipe in half and amazingly had exactly 3 dozen pieces! While this isn't my favorite, it is extremely quick and easy to put together. It makes a great last minute sweet to carry somewhere or give as a hostess gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Been making different versions of haystacks for a long time. I liked the addition of the marshmallows, as they softened the texture a bit. They're never pretty, so I mixed in some mini M&M's for a touch of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
We have been making the version without marshmallows for years. These are a favorite of ours. We loved the addition of the marshmallows as it shook up the texture and cutting the sweetness of the butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These were good! Very easy to mix up and quick to make. I make something similar w/ reg. chocolate chips and no marshmallows. I liked the marshmallows in this, but I think they'd be even better w/o them. I sprinkled the tops w/ Christmas colored sprinkles for a festive look...this is a great recipe for kids! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These aren't the prettiest cookies in the jar, but they sure are tasty! They are quick and easy and yummy. That savory factor from the chow mein noodles mixed with the sweet is crave-able!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Really yummy and so easy to make. Will be great in the summer when you don't want to turn the oven on but still want something sweet. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
They were delicious, my friend actually made them for our Xmas cookie exchange and I made sure to get the recipe from her! Very addicting...watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States