Butterscotch Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cathy Chace
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Similar to a recipe my mother made when I was a kid using chocolate this sweeter recipe was AWESOME.. the marshmallows added some 'chew" while the chow mein gave the 'crunch' factor. We could not keep our kitchen stocked with these over the holiday!!! We even left some for Santa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My family loved these! Crunchy, peanut-buttery, butterscotchy goodness! You can't eat just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I give these 3* with the marshmallows, 4* without. First try, I stirred the peanut butter and then the marshmallows as soon as I pulled the mix from the microwave. Well the 'mallows melted and made the whole thing an ugly mess. Next try, the marshmallows made it a bit difficult to stir and I did not like the texture of the treats. Last try: FORGET THE MARSHMALLOWS! These are just great without them! Maybe it's just a personal preference as far as texture and taste are concerned, but it is indeed easier to make without them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Ugh I forgot mini marshallows at the store and tried to cut up big marshmallows, but gave up! I saw some reviews where people omitted them and added nuts, I had no nuts, but did have extra chunky peanut butter...I am so glad I didn't have those ingredients, these turned out perrrrfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
These cookies are addicting. Family loves the flavor and texture. I waited a few mins. to add marshmallows so they kept their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My husband loves butterscotch so he enjoyed these very much. Too bad they never really set up well, even after refrigeration. They get soft at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
After reading lots of reviews I decided to take the advice of other members! I only used half the peanut butter and I subbed pretzel sticks for chow mein noodles. I also subbed cranraisins for the mini marshmallows. I only made half the recipe because others said it makes alot...and they were totally correct. I made mine into wreath shapes for Christmas. Cutting the recipe in half, I still got 12 wreaths that were huge (3 1/2 " diameter). I also had a problem getting the wreaths to set firm. They were firm only while chilled. Within 10 minutes of being out of the fridge the haystacks wreaths fell apart when you picked them up. But the flavor and texture was very good...crunchy, salty and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These were fun to make! Very sweet too! I made mine a little larger than the recipe states, but wish I hadn't since they're too sweet to eat a big haystack. I will make this recipe again, I think they'd be cute around Easter time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
The only issue I have with this recipe is the marshmallows. Haystacks are sugary sweet enough without them that I omitted them and used peanuts. This is a classic recipe that my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These was good, I loved the crunch of the noodles and the chewiness of the marshmallows. I followed the recipe to a T but for some reason they did not get as firm as I like, an fell apart pretty easy. Next time I may add less PB or more chip so they stay together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States