Butterscotch Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
My family has loved these cookies for years. We use 1 package butterscotch chips, 1/2 cup peanut butter and 3 cups cornflakes. You can melt it in the microwave instead of on the stovetop. Drop them by spoonfuls onto waxed paper to cool. If it's a hot day, it helps to put them in the fridge for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Rich? Yes. Declicious? Absolutely. These were the first to disappear of all the cookies I made for Thanksgiving and I've been asked for the recipe twice. I also added a drizzle of chocolate (and one of white chocolate) for both flavor and aesthetics, and used chunky peanut butter, mostly because I had it on hand but I'll be using it again; the peanuts added a nice touch. I recommend keeping the drops small - they *are* very rich - and maybe crushing the corn flakes a little bit to help with that. Also, if you have a food scale, weigh out the 4 cups (112g) rather than using measuring cups - my friend who cup-measured said he ended up with too few flakes and they turned out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I changed the recipe a bit..But they turnd out scrumptious!! I used HONEY BUNCHES OF OATS for the cereal..And added peanut butter chips instead of peanut butter and then I greased 12 cupcake cups and then packed the mixture in them and let them cool in the fridge..YUMMMMMMY!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I also love this recipe but have always made it a little differently. We called them butterscotch bonbons; we put 3 c. cornflakes, 3 c. mini marshmallows, 1 pkg. b. chips, 1 c. peanut butter. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I added a little Gulf Wax and they stayed set perfectly. These are AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
These were easy to make and have a good flavor mix with the peanut butter and butterscotch chips. I took these to our cookie exchange at work and one of the ladies just flipped over them saying this was what her grandmother made her when she was little. Brought back great memories for her. The only downfall is you can't leave them out for too long as they get sticky, but still good choice for a quick, easy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
these were fantastic! and super easy - ten minutes tops. i put them in the little truffle cups for more even distribution.. they tend to spread out if not contained. i also used the crunchy pb as the other review recommended. yummers! .tj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieJones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Excellent tasting, very easy to make. The only thing I would mention is that the mix is slightly runny when it's mixed and you drop the blobs on the cookie sheet. I wasn't sure they were going to stick together but once cooled they came out fine. They were somewhat difficult to get off the cookie sheet though, several of them broke when I scraped them off. Maybe spraying the cookie sheet with PAM first would help? Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Works just as well with rice krispies instead of cornflakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
We love these - especially my 4 year old! When I make these, I melt the mixture in the microwave and then store them in the fridge, that keeps them from sticking together. I also use extra crunchy peanut butter. I've tried both Corn Flakes and Special K haven't noticed a difference. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States