Butterscotch Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I am a big peanut butter girl, so I added half peanut butter chips and half butterscotch chips. I omitted the raisins as well. Cut the brown sugar down to a half cup, and used 1/2 C. Walnuts, 1/2 C. pecans. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added another 1/2 C. flour because it seemed really odd to me that for a whole recipe of cookie bars it asks for only 3/4 C. flour. I did use 1 C of Nestle's Toll House semi sweet chocolate chips to. I used an 8 x 8 glass pan. This was really really good, something different! And versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Nah....as much of a allrecipes fan I am, this one def didn't do it for me. I'm a pretty accomplished cook, but the melting of the butterscotch & butter didn't work for me at ALL. I melted them slowly, stirring at intervals - and it ended up a yucky separated (almost scorched) mess. LOVE this website but this is one I'll take a pass on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
My family loved these! Next time I will make a double batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great bar cookie! Still chewy and keeps very well in a tight container. I upped the flour to 1 cup, added 1/4c.ground flax seed and 1/2 c. oatmeal. I put it in a smaller pan and the thickness was perfect. Because I also thought it was too thin for a 9 x 13. I also put a mixture of choc chips, white choc chips, and butterscotch chips, right out of the oven. After melting, I swirled it and gave it a marbled effect. It looked festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
What went wrong? I have no idea. I gave two stars because it tasted delicious (although it was a bit too sweet if anything). It came out as a sticky, floppy mess that I couldn't separate into neatly cut bars at all. So I ended up having to serve it more as a pudding in bowls. Thank goodness I lined the tray with grease-proof paper! I followed the recipe correctly, and think I would have had to change it quite a bit to get something that would hold together well. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
these were good cookie bars, but i was disappointed with the lack of butterscotch taste. you could even smell it when they were done cooking, but i couldn't really taste it. i left out the raisins but otherwise was true to the recipe. good bars, just not what i was hoping for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These turned out very well, and my kids especially liked them. They are very sweet, so I cut them small and was able to get more than 18 small bars from the pan. I did not use the walnuts or raisins since my kids don't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
wow - I really "goofed" these up and they STILL turned out yummy. I didn't let the butterscotch chips cool much before I added the eggs and vanilla - didn't matter. I upped the amount of flour to a scant over a cup, cut the sugar in half (both as per advice from others), left out the nuts and added some quick oats instead for texture and poured into an 8x8 pan for a cakier result. oh yes - and the chocolate chips melted after I added them into the still-warm batter. I'm giving it 5 stars for its versatility. How many other recipes can you goof up so much and still have it turn out yummy?? I'm adding vanilla ice cream to it for dessert tonight - and a drizzle of caramel sauce to make it truly decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These bars were really good, but they were too much of a pain for me to make again. I followed the recipe exactly, but didn't add the walnuts or raisins because I didn't have any, and no one here is a raisin fan. Yes, the butterscotch chips do 'curdle' when you microwave them, but since I saw that was supposed to happen from other reviewers I just went with it. They are very hard to spread in the pan because they are so sticky and they are also very hard to remove from the pan. I'd recommend lining the pan as well as spraying it. They taste really good though...very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I read the reviews before making. I ended up using 1 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of a mix of semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips, 1/2 cup of a mix of almonds and walnuts (I keep a mix for my oatmeal in mornings), and baked in an 8x8 pan. The bars came out sufficiently, but not too sweet, and a bit caky- just like we like. I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States