Butterscotch Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I think the pan size is stated wrong for this recipe (10x15) as the candy only filled about half the space. Next time I would use 11x7 glass dish, which would make for more even candy sizes as the candy would be an even thickness. Cut the candy when it is still quite warm. Next time I want to wrap individual pieces in waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Fantastic recipe, thanks! My four year old loves this candy. The recipe requires little in the way of tending and the finished product is of sufficient texture to be broken by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great recipe and easy to make. I didn't use the vinegar but it came out fine. I didn't need to check if i cooked it long enough because when it all is golden brown to brown it is ready. Thanks. It tastes great too. Too clean up is easy too, just use hot water and it melts away if it gets stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
One reviewer said the temp needs to be at 240 degrees and this is incorrect. That temp will produce a chewy-praline like consistency. Butterscotch candy needs to be stirred constantly as the higher the temperature, the less water content and more concentrated the sugar becomes. This means it can burn easily if not stirred constantly. Butterscotch needs to come up to the temperature of soft crack stage (see below)just as the submitter wrote. . Soft-Crack Stage 270° F–290° F sugar concentration: 95% As the syrup reached soft-crack stage, the bubbles on top will become smaller, thicker, and closer together. At this stage, the moisture content is low. When you drop a bit of this syrup into cold water, it will solidify into threads that, when removed from the water, are flexible, not brittle. They will bend slightly before breaking. Saltwater taffy and butterscotch are cooked to the soft-crack stage. By following this recipe exactly and stirring constantly, it will be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is not a good recipe for butterscotch. It has no taste and smells awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe from scratch! If it does not turn out correctly, it is an error on the cooks part, not the recipe. We cut it with buttered shears into bite sized pieces and then shake in a bag with sugar. Will keep for a while. Phenomenal unadulterated flavor. Thank you so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandycooky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I attempted this recipe 3 times. The first time i put it in a pot that was too large and it burned (my fault!). The second time I put it in a smaller pot. I waited for the candy thermometer to reach 280, and just as it did, it burned.... The third time I FINALLY got it right... but in my opinion it just wasn't worth the effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
very good recipe. the only thing that went wrong for me is that i couldn't cut it very well. i ended up breaking it with my hands. odd shapes, but it still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Smelled like it was burning, and when it was cooled off it tasted burnt. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Well I was having fun, but in the end, it didn't get hard. So dissappointing. Not sure if it was something I did wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States