Butterscotch Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made this candy for my husband who is picky about anything new. HE LOVED IT!!!!!! In fact I am making more this weekend. One patch I am going to add cashews. His favorite nut besides his kids. I added the sugar to the warm candy and it was the perfect finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These are delicious. I did not think they would turn out so well! I added extra butter and it made it buttery and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I have made this so many times now and only issues i had were because of me not paying attention. Burnt it once. Let it stand to long prior to cutting and forgot the vanilla another time. As for the tast when i do pay attention it is not much different to Werthers Original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
To cook the sugar prooperly it need to be about 240 degrees and not the lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tumble4me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
i absolutely adore butterscotch candy, and finding out that i can make it at home was a big wonderful surprize!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I attempted this recipe 3 times. The first time i put it in a pot that was too large and it burned (my fault!). The second time I put it in a smaller pot. I waited for the candy thermometer to reach 280, and just as it did, it burned.... The third time I FINALLY got it right... but in my opinion it just wasn't worth the effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Smelled like it was burning, and when it was cooled off it tasted burnt. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe from scratch! If it does not turn out correctly, it is an error on the cooks part, not the recipe. We cut it with buttered shears into bite sized pieces and then shake in a bag with sugar. Will keep for a while. Phenomenal unadulterated flavor. Thank you so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandycooky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I followed the recipe as exactly as I could (I don't have a candy thermometer.), but it never came to the "threads in water" stage. I had to give up because the mixture actually started to burn. The grainy, taffy-like substance I ended up with tastes more like really good caramel than butterscotch. I'll be making it again because it's so good, but still... Not very butterscotchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I lovvved it! The only problem was it smelled a bit off while i was cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States