Butterscotch Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I needed something quick and happened to have the ingredients. I made this exactly as written and thought it was just a nice cake, moist and tasty. I sifted some confectioners sugar on top. Family really loved it and son just asked for it for his Bday, so I guess it's a keeper. With some of the reviewers additions and suggestions I think I would like it more myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Ended up doing 1 1/3C milk and 1/3C oil; also used 3 whole eggs which seemed to work out fine. These were basically the directions on the box. For glaze I put over med heat 4T butter and 1/4C milk, stir to boiling. Remove from heat add 1/4C confectioner sugar and 1C butterscotch chips... liquid gold! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was quite delicious; I did make a few changes: 1) I couldn't find a Vanilla or Butter Pecan cake mix, so I used a Butter mix, and that was quite good. 2) I didn't feel like having to make pudding--even if it were instant--so, I bought ready-made pudding in cups and used two of those, (6.8 oz instead of 3.25). As I was putting it in, I thought, "What am I doing. . . ?" since it was so much more, but it made the cake very butterscotchy, which was great. (One thing I did find, and I'm not sure if this is because of all the extra pudding I put in, but the powdered sugar just soaked into the cake. This wasn't something I could powder the night before; it's a do-it-right-before-serving addition.) 3) I didn't make a bundt cake. I made two 9-inch cakes, baked for 30 minutes at the instructed degrees. Perfect! Great recipe---everyone enjoyed it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I'm not a huge butterscotch fan, either, but I have been on a mission for the last few months for a good recipe and this is it! It was quick and easy and good! No frosting even required! Gonna' test this on my family over the holidays! I used yellow butter cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biz_kid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I put in 3 whole eggs and while it was very tasty and moist, it didn't rise very much. I topped it with a simple glaze of butterscotch chips thinned with a little almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I also am not a huge butterscotch fan but my hubby wanted a cake for his b-day - so... I took what others had said about moistness and flavor. I used three full eggs and followed the rest of the recipe as noted. I did not try the schnapps. Then I put in 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips that I rolled in flour first to keep from sinking to the bottom. The cake itself was nice and moist but not butterschotchie enough. I should've known but didn't have the schnapps. For frosting I made a standard cream cheese(1 brick cream cheese, powered sugar to taste, 1/4 stick of butter) I still had some butterscotch chips left so I used 3/4 c. and melted them in the microwave with a bit of milk - enough to thin it so I could pour it into the frosting. That made all the difference. As a nice garnish I melted some caramel and semi-sweet chips and drizzled it over the top. It was decadent. The frosting together with the cake was a show stopper. I would also try doing a layer cake with maybe some chocolate in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this cake and followed someone else's review of changing the 4 egg whites to 3 eggs and substituting 1/4c. of milk for 1/4c. of butterscotch schnapps. It worked out great! My only recommendation is this. I set the oven as it called for at 350 and the timer for 50 min. Right before the timer was to go off I started smelling a burning smell. After I cooled the cake in the pan for 10 min. and turned it out onto the cooling rack I noticed that it was black in spots and had a burnt smell to it. I threw it out, rebaked a new cake but this time set the timer for 40 min. and checked it. It needed just a couple minutes more. My oven may bake a bit hotter I don't know, but just thought I'd share my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Used a butter flavored cake mix and followed another reviewer and used 1/4 cup of Butterscotch Schnapps for an equal portion of the milk. Flavor was great, definately butterscotch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I was looking for a quick recipe to make for a work event, and it turned out so well! It was the first thing to go, and people were incredulous when I gave them the recipe--the didn't think something so delicious could be so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States