Butterscotch Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Ended up doing 1 1/3C milk and 1/3C oil; also used 3 whole eggs which seemed to work out fine. These were basically the directions on the box. For glaze I put over med heat 4T butter and 1/4C milk, stir to boiling. Remove from heat add 1/4C confectioner sugar and 1C butterscotch chips... liquid gold! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was quite delicious; I did make a few changes: 1) I couldn't find a Vanilla or Butter Pecan cake mix, so I used a Butter mix, and that was quite good. 2) I didn't feel like having to make pudding--even if it were instant--so, I bought ready-made pudding in cups and used two of those, (6.8 oz instead of 3.25). As I was putting it in, I thought, "What am I doing. . . ?" since it was so much more, but it made the cake very butterscotchy, which was great. (One thing I did find, and I'm not sure if this is because of all the extra pudding I put in, but the powdered sugar just soaked into the cake. This wasn't something I could powder the night before; it's a do-it-right-before-serving addition.) 3) I didn't make a bundt cake. I made two 9-inch cakes, baked for 30 minutes at the instructed degrees. Perfect! Great recipe---everyone enjoyed it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I'm not a huge butterscotch fan, either, but I have been on a mission for the last few months for a good recipe and this is it! It was quick and easy and good! No frosting even required! Gonna' test this on my family over the holidays! I used yellow butter cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biz_kid1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I put in 3 whole eggs and while it was very tasty and moist, it didn't rise very much. I topped it with a simple glaze of butterscotch chips thinned with a little almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I also am not a huge butterscotch fan but my hubby wanted a cake for his b-day - so... I took what others had said about moistness and flavor. I used three full eggs and followed the rest of the recipe as noted. I did not try the schnapps. Then I put in 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips that I rolled in flour first to keep from sinking to the bottom. The cake itself was nice and moist but not butterschotchie enough. I should've known but didn't have the schnapps. For frosting I made a standard cream cheese(1 brick cream cheese, powered sugar to taste, 1/4 stick of butter) I still had some butterscotch chips left so I used 3/4 c. and melted them in the microwave with a bit of milk - enough to thin it so I could pour it into the frosting. That made all the difference. As a nice garnish I melted some caramel and semi-sweet chips and drizzled it over the top. It was decadent. The frosting together with the cake was a show stopper. I would also try doing a layer cake with maybe some chocolate in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this cake and followed someone else's review of changing the 4 egg whites to 3 eggs and substituting 1/4c. of milk for 1/4c. of butterscotch schnapps. It worked out great! My only recommendation is this. I set the oven as it called for at 350 and the timer for 50 min. Right before the timer was to go off I started smelling a burning smell. After I cooled the cake in the pan for 10 min. and turned it out onto the cooling rack I noticed that it was black in spots and had a burnt smell to it. I threw it out, rebaked a new cake but this time set the timer for 40 min. and checked it. It needed just a couple minutes more. My oven may bake a bit hotter I don't know, but just thought I'd share my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Used a butter flavored cake mix and followed another reviewer and used 1/4 cup of Butterscotch Schnapps for an equal portion of the milk. Flavor was great, definately butterscotch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I was looking for a quick recipe to make for a work event, and it turned out so well! It was the first thing to go, and people were incredulous when I gave them the recipe--the didn't think something so delicious could be so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I'm probably not the best person to review a recipe for Butterscotch Cake since I'm not a fan of butterscotch - it's difficult to be objective. That said, I took into consideration a couple of reviewers' comments - the cake was dry, the cake wasn't butterscotchy enough - and made a couple of changes to address them. To add more butterscotch flavor I used a butter pecan cake mix (just so happened to have one on hand) and substituted 1/4 cup of butterscotch schnapps for part of the milk called for. An alternative might be to add some Watkins caramel flavoring or rum extract, maybe a teaspoon. I couldn't see the point of using egg whites and wasting four egg yolks - this isn't a white cake. So I used whole eggs - two instead of the four egg whites called for and a third for added moistness. While the cake was cooling I kind of just winged it and threw together a butterscotch glaze using butterscotch chips, heavy cream, and just a little butter and corn syrup (for gloss). The verdict? The small changes must have worked because it's moist and butterscotchy, so butterscotch lovers (like Hubs) will be pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States