Butterscotch Brownies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I followed other reviewers' ideas by decreasing the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. Because some had said the brownies weren't chewy enough I added 1 tbsp cooking oil with the butter. Others had said it was too floury-tasting so I decreased the flour to 2/3 cup. And I decreased the baking powder to 3/4 tsp. Also, I baked them til they were just brown around the edges, about 23 minutes. And --- TA-DA! I ended up with moist, chewy brownies. I halved the frosting recipe, and it was just the right amount; not overly thick or sweet. What a pleasant change from chocolate brownies, with a lighter and more delicate flavor. We loved them with the recipe changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These were way too sweet. Also,I put the correct amount of flour in but they came out tasting like I put too much flour in them. Not making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckaMax

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I don't like frosting so I just made the brownies (minus the nuts since I didn't have any on hand), and they were delicious! Buttery and sweet, but not too sweet. They deflated to half their height after I took them out of the oven, but I actually liked them better that way...I think it's what made them so chewy. I loved how simple the recipe was, and I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I doubled the recipe and used a 1&1/2 quart baking dish. Produced a nice, thick, chewy golden brownie. Yum! I didn't bother with the icing, plain is perfect. Cooking time for me was approx. 35 min. Oh, and I changed the walnuts to butterscotch chips. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
the brownie itslef was pretty good, but very chewy. But I really dont recomend using the frosting included in the recipe. It was very gritty and just tasted like sugar. A buttercream or penuche frosting would be great on these. Or just melted butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Awesome! These brownies disappeared in our home. I've been looking for a good butterscotch brownie recipe since losing my old time favorite one. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
These were cheap to make - just a bunch of ingredients I already had around the house. They're a little too sugary, which can be good in a way, because it keeps me from eating too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were very good but VERY sweet! That might be somewhat due to the fact that i added chocolate chips instead of the walnuts but i think it would have been too sweet for my taste either way. I would make these again but cut the sugar down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I'm in the process of making this... the batter tastes very good. I made some butterscotch brownies at the school I work at today (from a mix) and this tastes very similar! I added chocolate chips, and instead of frosting, sprinkled powdered sugar over, then topped with chocolate and carmel syrup! MMmmmm! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States