Butterscotch Brownies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I just made these brownies today. They smelled wonderful and tasted even better. I followed the recipe to the T and it came out perfectly. I did, however, add a few things....toasted chopped walnuts and pecans as well as butterscotch chips. About 1/4 C of each ingredient. You don't want to add too many butterscotch chips since that would make the brownies even sweeter then they already are. I also believe that adding the icing is a mistake. All I did was wait until the brownies cooled and sprinkled them with powdered sugar. That was perfect. Also I used an 8x8 pan and cut the brownies 5 down and 5 across making a total of 25 pcs. Since the brownies are so rich, a small piece is all you need to satisfy your sweet tooth. THESE BROWNIES HAVE A WONDERFUL RICH BUTTERSCOTCH FLAVOR. Absolutely will make again! Oh yeah they did settle just a tiny bit in the middle but most brownies will do that. Try them, you'll like them...for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This is the first time I've ever tried making butterscotch brownies, and I'm pretty happy with them. They came out nice and chewy, with a good flavor. I left out the nuts because I didn't have any. As other reviewers have mentioned, the frosting makes these super-sweet, so keep a glass of milk or a cup of coffee on hand! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I make the recipe for the brownies and then put cream cheese frosting topped with toffee bits. I love them SO much. Can't say anything about the frosting as I've never tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brennan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Just finished making them and they were AWESOME!! However, I am still on the search for something I think was a butterscotch brownie that I ate 10 years ago.. I did the 2/3 flour and maybe I will add more next time to get a different consistency. This doubled pan will surely be gone by tomorrow. ::yay::
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Supersonica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I used half white flour and half whole wheat flour, and the brownies tasted great. A little dense, and not too sweet, but it was perfect. For the icing, I read some reviews and tried to halve the recipe. I would not do that next time - there was not enough frosting, and it just looked sloppy when I spread it on the brownies. Next time, I will use the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Make sure to double the recipe since they are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UptownChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My family loved these brownies. I doubled the recipe exactly as written, but the batter looked more like cookie dough. Worried they would come out dry, I added 1/4 c. water and 1/4 c. veg. oil to my doubled recipe, and this gave it more of a batter consistency. They took about 45 min. to bake, but came out great. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Wilds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
The brownies themselves turned out so good that while they were cooling my boyfriend and I couldn't help but break off pieces of it to sample. When it actually cooled and I frosted them, I thought the frosting made them terrible. It was way too sweet at that point and we ended up scraping as much as the frosting off as we could. I would suggest leaving the brownies plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These were fantastic!!! This is what I did: First, I followed another commenter's advice and changed the portions to the following: Reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, reduced the flour to 2/3 cup, and reduced the baking powder to 3/4 tsp. Also, the boyfriend is allergic to nuts so I substituted butterscotch chips for the walnuts. Then, I realized I definitely did not have enough filling to fill an 8 X 8 pan so I doubled the recipe, with the previous adjustments, and then added that to the first batch I made. Perfect! It came out perfectly! I was planning on adding the frosting but ended up omitting it; I think it would have made them too sweet. These definitely are really sweet. They're kind of light and airy though, so they the sweetness isn't overwhelming; it's not too rich and filling. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I suggest doubling the recipe for anything more than an inch bite of brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States