Butterscotch Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
*Super* easy and yummy. This is one I'll make again & again. Oddly enough, it's not that sweet of a bread, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
in order to bring out more of a butterscotch flavor and sweetness, first melt the brown sugar with the butter and a little bit of the buttermilk (just enough so it's not too thick) and bring up to a bubble so that you slightly caramelize the sugar and bring out that flavor. then just let that cool, then mix with the remaining buttermilk and eggs before adding to the dry ingredients. this will also distribute the sugar evenly throughout the mixture and give the crust a slight almost candylike crunch when it first comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Delicious! This may sound silly but I added butterscotch chips to make it more like butterscotch bread...Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Dean
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I liked this but added a lot more butter. I was only making one loaf and used one stick. Also, I added some butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I was looking for a simple dessert and found this. I was a little scared when there was nothing special about the recipe but brown sugar, but when I melted the butter/sugar and let it caramelize a bit like emiliano lee said, it was DELICIOUS. Anyone who says there's no butterscotch taste should try that. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
EXCELLENT is really the only word necessary to describe this. I couldn't have cared less if the bread was "butterscotchy" or not - I just wanted something moist, lightly caramel-colored and pleasantly sweet with brown sugar. This delivered exactly what I was looking for. I had some fresh cherries and blueberries to make use of and I deliberately chose this bread for them. Two tablespoons of butter (for one loaf) didn't seem like it would be enough to me so I added another tablespoon for good measure. Whether or not that was necessary I don't know, but it made me feel better! The bread has a nice, almost crackly crust, with a dense, moist, incredibly delicious interior. The handful each of fresh cherries (pitted and quartered) and blueberries I added made this bread absolutely exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Okay bread. I melted the butter and sugar together to get a better butterscotch flavor, but still wasn't what I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I loved this recipe! Made muffins with it, and cut the recipe in half & it made 12 perfect muffins! For my own twist, I added butterscotch chips and marshmallow creme. In each muffin cup, place a very small amount if the recipe in the bottom, then place a large rounded teaspoonfull of marshmallow creme right in the middle, on top of the mixture. Now just continue to fill with the mixture until it's about 2/3, 3/4 full. When they bake, some of the butterscotch sinks to the bottom and the marshmallow oozes out of the top. Makes it SOOOO yum and sweet all the way through, don't even need a topping! The marshmallow flavor is so tame, almost a sweet substitute for honey. All 4 kids DEVOURED them,.and so did their dad! Only had one left the next morning, so I buttered it and ate it cold, AMAZING. I have saved this recipe and will use it the rest of my life, as well as pass it on down the family tree. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Love the uniqueness of this recipe. I did cook the butter, brown sugar and a little buttermilk together as one reviewer suggested, but I can't say it brought out the butterscotch flavor. Most of that flavor came from the addition of butterscotch chips. I added a half a bag and next time would probably add more. The buttermilk adds a really nice moistness and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I could tell that as is this bread would not have had a big 'butterscotch' flavor, so I added in a partial bag of butterscotch chips that I had in the pantry...YUM, it really gave this bread a great flavor and I believe that the addition of the chips was what this bread needed. I halved the recipe to only make 1 loaf, and that worked out fine. My hubby is a butterscotch lover, so I really wanted a good butterscotch flavor, and that was achieved. This smelled really good while baking, and was very moist. I will be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States