Butterscotch Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
in order to bring out more of a butterscotch flavor and sweetness, first melt the brown sugar with the butter and a little bit of the buttermilk (just enough so it's not too thick) and bring up to a bubble so that you slightly caramelize the sugar and bring out that flavor. then just let that cool, then mix with the remaining buttermilk and eggs before adding to the dry ingredients. this will also distribute the sugar evenly throughout the mixture and give the crust a slight almost candylike crunch when it first comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
EXCELLENT is really the only word necessary to describe this. I couldn't have cared less if the bread was "butterscotchy" or not - I just wanted something moist, lightly caramel-colored and pleasantly sweet with brown sugar. This delivered exactly what I was looking for. I had some fresh cherries and blueberries to make use of and I deliberately chose this bread for them. Two tablespoons of butter (for one loaf) didn't seem like it would be enough to me so I added another tablespoon for good measure. Whether or not that was necessary I don't know, but it made me feel better! The bread has a nice, almost crackly crust, with a dense, moist, incredibly delicious interior. The handful each of fresh cherries (pitted and quartered) and blueberries I added made this bread absolutely exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
*Super* easy and yummy. This is one I'll make again & again. Oddly enough, it's not that sweet of a bread, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
This recipe is a simple breakfast bread. It is nothing spectacular, but sometimes when you need comfort food this recipe is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
A very pretty quick bread-it baked perfectly and didn't have me second-guessing if I should keep it in a little longer (you may be able to relate...) I enjoyed it most fresh from the oven. My bf thought it was much better with butter... which is likely because it's really not very sweet so he wanted more flavor? I'm thinking my use of half whole wheat flour may have contributed to the dryness it seemed to have relatively quickly (a day or so later). I also added a handful of butterscotch chips, which sank to the bottom, darn it! It was a nice recipe to try, but I think I'll find another recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I was looking for a simple dessert and found this. I was a little scared when there was nothing special about the recipe but brown sugar, but when I melted the butter/sugar and let it caramelize a bit like emiliano lee said, it was DELICIOUS. Anyone who says there's no butterscotch taste should try that. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I could tell that as is this bread would not have had a big 'butterscotch' flavor, so I added in a partial bag of butterscotch chips that I had in the pantry...YUM, it really gave this bread a great flavor and I believe that the addition of the chips was what this bread needed. I halved the recipe to only make 1 loaf, and that worked out fine. My hubby is a butterscotch lover, so I really wanted a good butterscotch flavor, and that was achieved. This smelled really good while baking, and was very moist. I will be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
It didn't taste much like butterscotch to me. It's okay toasted and topped with butter or apple butter. I wasn't that impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Made as is and TOTALLY awesome! It is great with apple butter on it! Took to a potluck and everyone wanted the recipe! Will definitely be a regular in my house and makes the house smell SO good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Love the uniqueness of this recipe. I did cook the butter, brown sugar and a little buttermilk together as one reviewer suggested, but I can't say it brought out the butterscotch flavor. Most of that flavor came from the addition of butterscotch chips. I added a half a bag and next time would probably add more. The buttermilk adds a really nice moistness and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States