Butterscotch Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I could tell that as is this bread would not have had a big 'butterscotch' flavor, so I added in a partial bag of butterscotch chips that I had in the pantry...YUM, it really gave this bread a great flavor and I believe that the addition of the chips was what this bread needed. I halved the recipe to only make 1 loaf, and that worked out fine. My hubby is a butterscotch lover, so I really wanted a good butterscotch flavor, and that was achieved. This smelled really good while baking, and was very moist. I will be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Delicious! This may sound silly but I added butterscotch chips to make it more like butterscotch bread...Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I liked this but added a lot more butter. I was only making one loaf and used one stick. Also, I added some butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
This recipe is okay, I suppose. I followed the other reviewer's directions about caramelizing the brown sugar, and it did intensify the flavor, but overall there wasn't enough flavor in the bread besides "sweet". Not really a butterscotch flavor to this-- maybe if you added some extra butter, or butter-flavoring? At least it baked up prettily and had a nice texture when lightly toasted the next day. I guess I'll have to find another recipe to use up leftover buttermilk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I tried this recipe with the modifications suggested by Emiliano Lee. It turned out great. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
in order to bring out more of a butterscotch flavor and sweetness, first melt the brown sugar with the butter and a little bit of the buttermilk (just enough so it's not too thick) and bring up to a bubble so that you slightly caramelize the sugar and bring out that flavor. then just let that cool, then mix with the remaining buttermilk and eggs before adding to the dry ingredients. this will also distribute the sugar evenly throughout the mixture and give the crust a slight almost candylike crunch when it first comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
*Super* easy and yummy. This is one I'll make again & again. Oddly enough, it's not that sweet of a bread, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
It didn't taste much like butterscotch to me. It's okay toasted and topped with butter or apple butter. I wasn't that impressed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
This recipe is a simple breakfast bread. It is nothing spectacular, but sometimes when you need comfort food this recipe is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States