Butterscotch Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was the best bread pudding I've ever made OR tasted. However, I did change a few things: Instead of 4 cups of milk I replaced with 2 cups of whipping cream and 2 cups of half-n-half. I also added salt and cinnamon to taste and since I'm not a huge fan of butterscotch I did half butterscotch chips and half white chocoloate chips. Nestle works great. And instead of regular loaf bread, I bought French baguette style bread. I also baked mine for way over the recommended 45 minutes..more like 1 hour and 30 miuntes. I don't like soupy bread pudding in the middle so I cooked mine until it was more solid. Let me tell you this bread pudding was so crispy, buttery and delicious that it was hard to share. I ate some for breakfast lunch and dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Definately not enough stars! I have made this many times. I changed it a bit though. I use a good raisin bread and cinnamon chips. I also double the cinnamon and add a generous amount of nutmeg. Everyone raves! This is one of the best things I have ever made or eaten. You must try this! I can't begin to describe how amazing this is. Oh, I don't recommend reheating the next day, it tastes much better cold, after it has been in the fridge over night! Thank you so much for this amazing recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I am a huge bread pudding fan, and I think the addition of butterscotch chips here is key. It's really a great idea. I did, however, make a couple of changes. I used cinnamon bread and added golden raisens (soaked in whiskey beforehand). Oh, and also I did use just 1 cup of sugar (instead of 2 cups). I didn't think it needed so much sweetness, and that was the right choice for me. The final product I was got was out of this world! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
OH MY GOODNESS!!! I have made this 4 times in the last four weeks for different groups of company each time, and if I owned the rights to this recipe I could get rich. A couple of changes: I use a great brand of butterscotch chips called Guittard, a "buttery" butterscotch, the other was waxy by comparison. I also use only about 3/4 cup of chips, and push them down under the surface of the pudding before baking, they melt better into the pudding. For the bread I use half a loaf of the Sara Lee Cinnamon Bread and about 6 large fresh potatoe rolls, and use my Kitchen Aid so everything is well smoomshed. Using real butter to coat the dish seems to add something, instead of just spraying it with Pam. The sauce I use is the Whisky Sauce found on this site, but I substitute the Whisky with Brandy. This recipe is Splendiferious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Awesome. I made this for breakfast as a french toast bake and it was delightful. I did cut the brown sugar in half. Instead of butterscotch chips, I used 1/2 cup of butterbrickle chips. I also put in some dried cranberry crasins and coconut. I also sprinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar before baking. This is such a nice basic recipe and you can change this by adding your favorite things. I made the buttermilk sauce on this site also to go with it which is a very nice sauce and not as sweet like a caramel sauce. This makes a large pan so we had a couple pieces and then I cut up servings and drizzled with buttermilk sauce and put them in the freezer. They heat up well and is a great breakfast item or dessert. Now to keep out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
IMO this should be called: "To Die For Butterscotch Bread Pudding". If I could give it more than 5 stars I certainly would. I am dumbfounded at how easy and delicious this recipe is. I used French Bread (day old) and followed the recipe to the "T". You are a genius Margaret! Thank you so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Surprisingly good bread pudding. I had never made bread pudding before so I was suspicious of its outcome. it turned out that it was easy to make and tasted great. Its also a good base recipe for future customization. I made sure the bread was good and stale (meaning dry) so it would soak up all that creamy goodness! Bewarned, it will rise when baking and fall as it cools, so be prepared for a little overflow. I baked it in ramekins sitting on a sheet pan, so cleanup was easy (who wants to clean the bottom of the oven!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe! Per the suggestion of others, I cut the brown sugar by a quarter cup. Then, the only other change I made was using fresh bread, since I didn't have any thing else on hand. I did, however, use a French Parisian Bread (very hard crust with soft inner). The result got rave reviews. My husband, who doesn't even like bread pudding, said this recipe was a keeper. Truly excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was some of the best bread pudding I have ever eaten! I'm a sauce lover & this was so tasty on it's own that I think it's best w/out any sauce. I used very stale french bread torn in small pieces & since the bread was so stale I let it soak for about 30 minutes before baking & the texture of the pudding was perfect. I sprinkled some pecan chips on the surface before baking. (Next time I think I will try some rum soaked raisins as suggested by others.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Apart from adding a little more vanilla, I made this as written, and it was absolutely fantastic! I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks so much, Margaret. Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States