Butterscotch Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as is...it smelled amazing but it was WAY to moist. I would also recommend using a smaller size pan (when I think of bread pudding I think more loaf size)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I used substantially less sugar. Since I couldn't find butterscotch pieces, I used two large Cadbury chocolate and caramel bars and broke them into pieces. It was AWESOME!! Incidentally, it took more like 40-45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've never made bread pudding before but NOW I'm making it every week! The family LOVED this. I used dried bread strips I bought from Jewel. This made it very easy to just tear off little pieces while it's cooling, just so you know. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
OMG. This recipe has been put on my permanent Go To Dessert list. Great way to use up old bits & pieces of different breads. I used skim milk & a mix of leftover rye, white, wheat & pretzel bread and was not sorry to do so! -- NOTE: Next time I make this, I'll try cutting back on the brown sugar and butter simply to make it 'healthier' (yeah ... like that's a priority of mine!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
What did I do wrong? I used wonderful ciabatta bread. I read the reviews about the quantity of sugar and chips so I halved them. The bottom of the pan was wet and bread mushy. The top of the pan was crusted bread. And the chips just sank into the wet mush. Not the least bit appealing to look at. However, the taste was delightful. Was it the type of bread? Should I have sprinkled the chips on the top? Should the pan be covered with foil while baking? I did cook it for longer than the one hour because it was so soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made this recipe as stated (except I made half). And it was really good, we even thought it was good reheated. Great recipe Margaret Burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I use brioche buns and reduce the sugar. Also you could use redcurrant jam as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
You can taste the calories in this (and it's worth every bite). If it wasn't so terribly unhealthy I'd make it every week. It's the perfect desert for a cold dreary day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I love bread pudding and order it whenever it is on the menu. This was good, but only good, not great. I will say the flavor improves on day 3. The first problem I have is that butterscotch chips taste very artificial, I was hoping it would not be noticeable when mixed in but I was wrong. I followed the advice of so many others and reduced the sugar, bad move. I used 1.5 cups and it was not really sweet enough, but I am from the south and we like things sweet. I baked in two smaller pans and it baked in about 50 min. For the sauce I used my mom's standby of evap milk, sugar, and vanilla, with just a pinch of corn starch. On day one without the sauce I would have given it 2 stars, on day 3 and with adding sauce it is a 3.5. I am still searching for the 5 star bread pudding recipe. I will try it again with the full 2 cups of sugar and sub in choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Very good with a little rum or rum extract added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States