Butterscotch Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This was a nice hot dessert. I absolutely loved the butterscotch sauce. We served hot with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
The grandchildren loved these apple dumplings and even my hard to please son-in-law thought they were great. The pastry is much easier to make than a pie crust type pastry and tastes better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
These turned out wonderfully. The sauce was thick and very flavourful. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I had never had Apple Dumplings, but my husband had. He was telling me how he would like to have some, so I found this recipe. They were great! He loved them! Served warm with a vanilla ice cream, yummY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe!! My husband was in heaven. We loved it so much I am going to make it again this weekend for a dinner party. A keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Mmm. Maybe it's just that I only made two of these, but I didn't find the recipe to be difficult or time consuming. I skipped the peeling step, though, and I patted the dough into rounds rather than rolling it out. It yeilds a crispy, biscuit like crust, and a soft, warm apple. (Braeburn, in my case.) I rubbed the cinnamon sugar mix over the inside of the dough before wrapping the apple in it, and used a bit of allspice, rather than nutmeg. I also stuffed them with golden raisins. They would be lovely with vanilla ice cream, but if you haven't got any, a cold glass of milk will do. Incidentally, if you scale it down to two servings like I did, you might want to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
really wonderful. I like how you do 1/2 an apple per dumpling, its a much more appropriate size, but still big!! this is absolutely to die for warm with vanilla ice cream. the butterscotch sauce is so flavorful, it's addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Mmmmm this is so good! At first I thought it was going to be kind of difficult and time-consuming, but really once the apples are peeled and halved the rest just flies by. The brown sugar sauce doesn't taste exactly like butterscotch but it's still very good and it really compliments the apple taste. Also as an added bonus, my kitchen smells fantastic after baking this. I am going to serve these to my family tomorrow and I'll bet they're going to love them. Thank you Carol for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fantastic! No major changes. I quartered the apples instead of halving - much better serving size. I put 1-2 teaspoons of the sugar-cinammon-nutmeg mixture into each smaller dumpling. While I had a lot of the sugar mixture left over, I thought it came out perfectly. Sweet, but not too sweet. Also, I forgot them in the oven. They may have been in an extra 20-40 minutes. Well browned, but delicious. I used Winesap apples - a rather tart apple. I brought it to the neighborhood cook out and they disappeared like hot cakes! The doughy part was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These are the best! My mom and I have been using this recipe for years and get rave reviews every time we take them somewhere. The only change I make is using store-bought pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendricks, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States