Butterscotch Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
The grandchildren loved these apple dumplings and even my hard to please son-in-law thought they were great. The pastry is much easier to make than a pie crust type pastry and tastes better too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Mmm. Maybe it's just that I only made two of these, but I didn't find the recipe to be difficult or time consuming. I skipped the peeling step, though, and I patted the dough into rounds rather than rolling it out. It yeilds a crispy, biscuit like crust, and a soft, warm apple. (Braeburn, in my case.) I rubbed the cinnamon sugar mix over the inside of the dough before wrapping the apple in it, and used a bit of allspice, rather than nutmeg. I also stuffed them with golden raisins. They would be lovely with vanilla ice cream, but if you haven't got any, a cold glass of milk will do. Incidentally, if you scale it down to two servings like I did, you might want to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe!! My husband was in heaven. We loved it so much I am going to make it again this weekend for a dinner party. A keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This was a nice hot dessert. I absolutely loved the butterscotch sauce. We served hot with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TSONDO
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This recipe is quite tasty. I recommend using very tart apples, and cutting them into quarters instead of halves, then rolling the crust to a very very thin layer which can be cut into 16 sections total, one for each apple quarter. This decreases the cooking time by about 10 minutes and makes a smaller serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I like a "flakey crust" apple dumpling and the addition of baking podwer gives these dumpling an almost biscuit like texture and taste. The apples and sauce were tasty but overall I was disappointed with these dumplings and would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I had never had Apple Dumplings, but my husband had. He was telling me how he would like to have some, so I found this recipe. They were great! He loved them! Served warm with a vanilla ice cream, yummY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
The taste of these dumplings is definately 5 stars, but the time it takes to make them bumped it down a notch. Between peeling and coring the apples, making the crust, and making the sauce, these took about an hour to make and get in the oven, then another 45 minutes to bake. If you are planning on making these, make sure you have the free time and energy. After tasting one though, the hard work was all worth it! Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
These turned out wonderfully. The sauce was thick and very flavourful. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
These were a little bit of work having to make pastry dough, but they were really yummy. I served them with vanilla ice cream which was wonderful. My sauce did not turn out, though, it was runny and separated. I followed the directions, but the sauce was not what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States