Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Excellent flavor!! I used sweet potatoes instead of squash, and cut back on the broth, since my husband likes thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This soup is great. I found it to be a little under seasoned so I added a bit of nutmeg and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was a very yummy and easy to modify recipe. Instead of vegetable broth, I used some ham broth that I made up with some smoked ham hocks that I had in my freezer. I also used dried beans instead of canned, let them soak over night and then added them with everything else. I started this on the stove and then moved it to a crock pot and let it finish cooking a little longer because of the beans. Made some ham and beans with the rest of the broth and ham. Now I have my freezer stocked with some great soups! Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this with a few alterations to increase the health value. I made it with no oil, placed all the ingredients in the crock pot, except the salt which I added just before serving. I also used dried great northern beans that I rinsed prior to adding. I cooked it all day on high and everything was beautifully cooked and delicious. Since we eat vegan I used a vegan chicken flavored broth powder instead of the veggie broth (since I did not have any) and thought it made a nice complement to the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
So delicious. I made this because I needed to do something with a bunch a kale. I thougt this looked healthy. I never thought it would be so good. I added some fresh basil, parsley, oregano, and green onions also. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was pretty good. I liked the butternut and all the vegetables in it. It was hard to assemble though. I think we overcooked it the butternut squash. The recipe was also a little bit too sweet for our tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious! I added a rutabaga, used a peeled baking potato in place of the red potatoes -- roasted all the veggies in the oven after tossing with olive oil and herbes de provence then added them to the broth -- also added a can of big lima beans with the northern beans -- threw in about 1/2 TBSP more herbes de provence near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this today and it was awesome! I for 8 servings and used a little less broth than on the recipe; I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and pinto beans instead of the northern beans because that all I had. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great flavor, great ingredients, simple directions! This was a great recipe. I did tweak so I couldn't give it 5 stars as it stands, but I didn't change much so 4 stars it is. I blanched the potatoes (idaho) ahead of time and softened the squash by microwaving it under plastic wrap for about 10 minutes to make it easy to peel and chop. I used a can of drained, chopped greens instead of kale just because that is what I had on hand. Everything else was pretty much the same and my whole family loved it...even my very picky youngest son! Great winter meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I love having lots of veggies in the soup but even after only adding 10 cups of broth, the soup was too watery. Next time, I'll try 8 cups. I added more thyme and some rosemary which made the soup even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States