Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I've made this dish several times now and my whole family loves it! The recipe is 5 stars as is, and the adjustments I've made are minor. I microwave the cubed butternut squash in a covered dish for a 3 minutes to speed up the cooking a bit. And I sometimes throw a handful of dried cranberries in, or used walnuts instead of pecans when that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Really good, squashy result, I made the mistake of leaving with the lid on, on the stovetop, for a few minutes too long (waiting for other dishes) so the pecans were slightly less crunchy. Otherwise, it's something I might make again whenever I don't know what to do with a butternut squash - it was really cheap! Chopping them up is a little time consuming, and personally my typical vegetable peeler is not up to snuff, so I just cut them in half first (above the bulge) and then slice the peel off. Probably not as efficient as it could be, but it works :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I just made this recipe using the squash I had originally bought for fall decorations! Wow, am I glad I didn't pitch these out for the woodland critters to eat up. This is delicious!! A wonderful, nutty flavor and just plain great! I followed the recipe exactly and loved it. I used a potato peeler to peel the skin, cut it in half to remove the seeds, then cubed it for cooking, very easy and I still have all 10 fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good. Thank you for the recipe. May I add something for those of us who do the cooking.---For the squash--stick a sharp knife into it several places thru the skin & put it in the microwave for a few min. It will get a bit soft THEN slice into 1" or so rounds THEN peal. It will save a lot of time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Really nice! Works with the Paleo Diet! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Only change I made was based on what I had on hand: dried parsley, not fresh. This was lovely! my husband really doesn't care for nuts in his food but still enjoyed this one! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Delicious, and a nice alternative way to fix squash. Could have had some protein with it to make it more filling for a bigger meal - maybe some chicken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I was skeptical, but took a couple of reviewers' advice, added the ginger and coriander to the cooking onions, then a splash of apple cider vinegar to the batch when I added the squash. I also added a touch of cinnamon, and cooked it for 5 extra minutes with the pecans to blend the flavors a little more. I served it as a pasta dish with 1/2 c pasta to 1 c of this per serving. It was amazing!! I think next time, I will try it without the apple cider vinegar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Melt-in-your-mouth delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I really liked this recipe! So did my husband who doesn't usually like squash type dishes. I didn't add any sweet spices because I wanted to stay away from a sweet potato-like dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States