Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I have never cooked a squash in my life and halfway through trying to chop through the darned thing without losing a finger I decided that this was one recipe that I'd never make again. Its just not worth losing a limb over, you know? But after the dust had settled and I had my first bite of this amazing concoction, I had to change my mind. THIS IS DEFINITELY WORTH LOSING A FINGER. Maybe even two. This was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend following the recipe and using toasted pecans, fresh parsley, and butter - you won't regret it. Thank you, Christine L.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This was a great recipe. I have only tasted "sweet" squash recipes before, and didn't really like them. I cut the butternut in half and put a little butter, olive oil, and s&p on and baked at 400 for about 30 minutes. This made it very easy to peel and cube. Then added to the onions etc. and just sauteed til totally tender. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This recipe was very easy and amazing. I added a little bit of ground ginger and ground coriander to the butter before cooking the onions. Also, I recommend serving this with freshly grated cheese on top. I used asiago and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I made some health-conscious changes (margarine instead of butter, fewer nuts), added some dried cranberries for color and texture, coarsely chopped my onion, sprinkled on a light dusting of cinnamon, and used dried parsley (all I had). The recipe turned out very good, and the presentation was very aesthetic. The contrast of orange squash, deep red cranberries and a hint of green parsley is beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Delicious! Peel with a vegetable peeler for ease, forget nuking in the micro, it makes the squash too smooshy. Don't fiddle with the seasonings, it's perfect the way it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Am absolute hit for potlucks! I made it twice, and have always gotten many compliments. My changes on the basic recipe: olive oil for butter -- as most people on those potlucks were vegan; I also followed a reviewer's advice and baked it for 30 minutes (makes it easier to peel and cut in cubes). It's worth paying close attention to the baking point and not using too much water on the bottom of the baking sheet (or none at all), as that could render too much water on the cooking pan later. I also made more than recipe calls. For a 22-serving dish the customized recipe calls for 6 1/4 lb squash. I instead used 11 lb, also put more pecans, and voila. What a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Added apple cider while simmering. gave it a whole new tase and was just wonderful. Served it for Thanksgiving. My guest couldn't get enough. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellently memorable. Hubs and I travel extensively which means we eat in many, many restaurants all over the country. I can say with experience that most restaurants don't take the extra steps as this recipe does with the "lowly" vegetable. Beautiful in its simplicity, this is fresh and flavorful, not loaded down with tons of spices, sugar or any of a myriad of other distracting additions. The cooking method is different but easy - peeling the squash is no big deal with a simple vegetable peeler, no more difficult than peeling a potato. I added a bit of fresh sage and minced garlic but otherwise stuck to the recipe as written. Beautiful with its brightly colored chunks of squash contrasted with the toasted nuts and flecks of green parsley. The "lowly" squash doesn't take a back seat with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Using an acorn squash instead, I baked it so that the flesh was soft, and therefore, the dish was more of a squash mash. I added dried cranberries on someone else's recommendation, and I think it was this touch that put it up to a 4 star rating for me. The nuts are awesome, especially with the cranberries and parsley. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is such a wonderful, simple, different, and delicious recipe! My husband swore that he hated squash and would not eat it no matter what. This recipe changed everything for him, and he now loves all kinds of squash, new vegetables, etc. It's easy to get stuck in a rut with squash and always do the same thing. This is a refreshing change, yet it's still so simple and familiar. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States