Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
One of the best butternut squash recipes I have ever tasted! The pecans, butter, and onions make this a dish that is without equal! Congratulations to Christine L. You hit the jackpot with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
A nice change from those sweet squash dishes. A few years ago my husband had a squash dish like this at a restaurant and fell in love with it. The restaurant has since closed and I've been looking around for a recipe similar to that legendary dish. This was pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
what a different and delicious way to cook squash. Everyone loves it requested for Thanksgiving...Trish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Unbelievable! I used buttercup squash instead because that's what I had on hand, it turned out very well. The taste was amazing! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
This is a really nice departure from the more traditional "sweet" recipes available for butternut squash. Our family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Delicious, very flavorful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Excellent! The sauteed onions and roasted pecans really make this dish. Next time, I might try it with olive oil instead of butter (just to save on the saturated fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is a great side dish for any type of main dish. Just the right combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I used sliced almonds instead of pecans and added some garlic to the mix... and microwaved the squash first to get it cooked ... added the squash to the onions and butter and almonds, which I toasted in the oven (yum) and mashed them together then baked in the oven till heated through - topped with more toasted almonds. Everyone raved about this recipe and it will become a favorite to take to family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I have never cooked a squash in my life and halfway through trying to chop through the darned thing without losing a finger I decided that this was one recipe that I'd never make again. Its just not worth losing a limb over, you know? But after the dust had settled and I had my first bite of this amazing concoction, I had to change my mind. THIS IS DEFINITELY WORTH LOSING A FINGER. Maybe even two. This was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend following the recipe and using toasted pecans, fresh parsley, and butter - you won't regret it. Thank you, Christine L.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States