Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This dish is really good and I would serve it for company. The toasted pecans really make the dish. Be sure not to skip the toasting step. I'm not sure that I will put the parsley in next time. It makes it pretty, but I don't think added to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
So delicious! I nuked the squash in the microwave for 10 minutes or so to soften it so it wasn't so hard to peel and chop. I also let the onions caramelize a bit. A real hit! I never know what to do besides mash w/butter and salt (I hate squash/sweet potato recipes with sweet ingredients) and now I have something new! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I cooked this tonight as a side with chicken. I added an extra half onion, omitted the pecans (didn't have any on hand), and used Smart Choice at half the amount called for of butter. I did microwave my squash cubes twice for four minutes each time and with 1/4 cup water in the bottom of the bowl to soften them a bit before saute. Everyone complimented me on them except my five year old but he only eats PB&J so we won't count him :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Outstanding way to prepare Butternut Squash. If you are a Sam's Club or Costco shopper, they have 2lb trays of precubed squash this time of year. This makes preparation non-existent. If you can, substitute a couple of good sized shallots for the onion. Otherwise, don't change a thing. Great way to prepare squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Never had Butternut Squash before, and will now be a favorite dish. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Just a note: I think this same recipe is on the site twice by the same submitter. Anyway, I've served this dish every Thanksgiving since 2003 and it's always a hit. Make it as-written the first time and then adjust if you see fit. It's delcious as-is. Here are some simple things you can do to make this dish a success with less work: 1) Buy the pre-cut butternut squash--your pieces will be the same size and will be more likely to cook evenly. 2) You can't always substitute dried parsley for fresh and you shouldn't in this dish. It won't be as good, so don't blame the recipe and rate it lower if you do this and don't care for it. Use FRESH! 3) Microwaving the squash first to par cook it as another reviewer mentioned is an excellent idea. But, if you don't, no worries. Stir frequently and keep covered...lower your temperature if it starts to stick or cook too quickly. The recipe calls for low heat and that's important. Lower and slower works well for me. It's ok if some of the pieces cook more than others, it gives it a creaminess that my guests enjoy. 4) If you use a nonstick skillet, you can reduce the amount of butter, it's a very buttery dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
as much as we like squash, this was darn good,,,thanks,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garrison, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving - it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Thos is a good recipe as written, but even better with a couple of tbsps of brown sugar sprinkled over top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
UNBELIEVABLE! I hate onions, yet I stepped out of my boundaries and took a chance on this one. WOW! The toasted pecans balanced it perfectly. I had to use a wok because of the amount of squash, and also added some brown sugar to the onions (to caramelize and sweeten a bit). I used this recipe with the marinated turkey breast, the cranberry rice, and the cranberry with toasted pecans recipes and it was AMAZING! My only fault was pairing it with a Cabernet instead of a Riesling... but next time for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rel.hearts.food

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States