Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I loved this recipe, but I was the only one! I think it may be sweeter than most people are used to for squash, but I loved the sweet/onion combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Spectacular! Made exactly as directed this recipe is perfect! It is a unique way to cook butternut squash, and it was a wonderful complement to herbed pork roast from this site. For those concerned about peeling a squash, I find that cutting a one inch piece from the top and bottom of the squash for stability makes it very easy to use a serrated vegetable peeler for the task.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I left out the onions because we aren't huge onion fans, but that might have been a mistake bc I felt this dish was missing something. I should've added garlic instead I think. Still, I really like butternut squash and I'm not going to penalize a recipe for my mistake. I think I prefer butternut squash baked--just my personal preference, so I'd do that next time. Bf apparently just doesn't like butternut squash, which he hasn't really told me before. So I guess I'll try it again just for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellently memorable. Hubs and I travel extensively which means we eat in many, many restaurants all over the country. I can say with experience that most restaurants don't take the extra steps as this recipe does with the "lowly" vegetable. Beautiful in its simplicity, this is fresh and flavorful, not loaded down with tons of spices, sugar or any of a myriad of other distracting additions. The cooking method is different but easy - peeling the squash is no big deal with a simple vegetable peeler, no more difficult than peeling a potato. I added a bit of fresh sage and minced garlic but otherwise stuck to the recipe as written. Beautiful with its brightly colored chunks of squash contrasted with the toasted nuts and flecks of green parsley. The "lowly" squash doesn't take a back seat with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe fails on several accounts. It's all but tasteless. It's hard to make (peeling squash!). And its got too many calories (butter and pecans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
We at this dish as a main course. I made it exactly as written and the whole family loved it. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Sorry, but there was too much onion in this to make it enjoyable, and I love onions! The butternut does not have a strong enough flavor to hold against an entire onion; perhaps, if less was used this would taste better but I'm not using another 40 minutes of my life to find out. Thanks for the interesting side dish though, always worth a try once :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I believe I used to large of an onion and didn't chop it small enough ... but even without this mistake I don't understand why everyone loves this recipe. My boyfriend and I both felt it needed brown sugar and cinnamon, which would make it more like a sweet potatoe pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe, just added some olive oil with the butter, and I cooked it for a half an hour instead of 15 minutes because I like the squash real soft, it was fabulous, the onions got carmelized and I got rave reviews from visiting family members, it like melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I used olive oil instead of butter, left out the pecans and added black beans. Delicious and healthy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States