Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I liked this so much better then next day at room temp. It seemed a bit dry when it was warm. Not really too flavorful. The kids liked it--score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammyjo_79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great comfort food! I kept the same ingredients, but just fried everything. I left out the parsley. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I added the cranberries and pecans. I would make this again but just add less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLYVIVE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Absolutely DIVINE. Thank you for this wonderful idea. Allowed squash to cook slightly more than recommended because we like it soft, so texture and look was half cubed, half mashed. Delicious all round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Had never tried Butternut Squash and this was the perfect recipe for first time. Thanks for posting Christine. We can not eat pecans so after cooked added a little cinnamon - turned out great. Used other posting suggestion to peel with veggie peeler before cutting and seeding and worked out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was really good. I made modifications based on people's reviews. I microwaved the squash for about 7 minutes to make it easier to cut. I added dried cranberries and simmered everything in apple cider. I also added corriander, cinnamon, and all spice. I made it in the morning before i went to work, and put it in a casserole dish so my husband could throw it in the oven to heat it up. The only thing i didn't' like was the parsley, it tasted like soap but that's probably my own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was very tasty. I am not very familiar with squash so I was thrilled to find such a tasty recipe. I cut in half, seeded, rubbed with olive oil, salt and pepper. Baked 400 for 30-35 min. cut skin off and cubed, then tossed with the sauteed onions and butter. At the end, added the pecans (loved the chopped kind - lots of little bits of goodies) - but didn't toast them. i almost didn't add the pecans because I didn't want to waste them on something I wasn't sure I would like but they really brought it all together. Salt a bit more at the end and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
totally bland. Tried doctoring it up, still pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
simple and delicious. could cut back on nuts and triple cooking time. sub some oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This had a wonderful aroma, but for me, the sweet squash with the onions wasnt somethng I wanted to eat too much of. It was a nice flavor, but after a few bites, was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemylila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States