Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I used sliced almonds instead of pecans and added some garlic to the mix... and microwaved the squash first to get it cooked ... added the squash to the onions and butter and almonds, which I toasted in the oven (yum) and mashed them together then baked in the oven till heated through - topped with more toasted almonds. Everyone raved about this recipe and it will become a favorite to take to family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is a great side dish for any type of main dish. Just the right combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I have never cooked a squash in my life and halfway through trying to chop through the darned thing without losing a finger I decided that this was one recipe that I'd never make again. Its just not worth losing a limb over, you know? But after the dust had settled and I had my first bite of this amazing concoction, I had to change my mind. THIS IS DEFINITELY WORTH LOSING A FINGER. Maybe even two. This was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend following the recipe and using toasted pecans, fresh parsley, and butter - you won't regret it. Thank you, Christine L.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
This is a really nice departure from the more traditional "sweet" recipes available for butternut squash. Our family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
what a different and delicious way to cook squash. Everyone loves it requested for Thanksgiving...Trish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Unbelievable! I used buttercup squash instead because that's what I had on hand, it turned out very well. The taste was amazing! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Excellent! The sauteed onions and roasted pecans really make this dish. Next time, I might try it with olive oil instead of butter (just to save on the saturated fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This was a great recipe. I have only tasted "sweet" squash recipes before, and didn't really like them. I cut the butternut in half and put a little butter, olive oil, and s&p on and baked at 400 for about 30 minutes. This made it very easy to peel and cube. Then added to the onions etc. and just sauteed til totally tender. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Delicious! I didn't have as much butternut squash as called for, but I had some freshly cooked pumpkin in the fridge, and just made up the difference with that. I also used less onion for my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Delicious, very flavorful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States