Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I made some health-conscious changes (margarine instead of butter, fewer nuts), added some dried cranberries for color and texture, coarsely chopped my onion, sprinkled on a light dusting of cinnamon, and used dried parsley (all I had). The recipe turned out very good, and the presentation was very aesthetic. The contrast of orange squash, deep red cranberries and a hint of green parsley is beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Perfect combination of 3 different textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I didn't care for this dish -maybe I over-cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Am absolute hit for potlucks! I made it twice, and have always gotten many compliments. My changes on the basic recipe: olive oil for butter -- as most people on those potlucks were vegan; I also followed a reviewer's advice and baked it for 30 minutes (makes it easier to peel and cut in cubes). It's worth paying close attention to the baking point and not using too much water on the bottom of the baking sheet (or none at all), as that could render too much water on the cooking pan later. I also made more than recipe calls. For a 22-serving dish the customized recipe calls for 6 1/4 lb squash. I instead used 11 lb, also put more pecans, and voila. What a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This recipe was very bland. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
The whole family just loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was very tasty. I did change things a little bit. I used less butter than called for and curt back on the pecans as well. I added garlic and right at the end, a little dash of cayenne pepper. The spiciness with the nuts and the slightly sweet taste of the squash worked well. Thanks for the recipe. Next time i think I might go a bit heavier on the onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was my first experience with butternut squash and I served it at a family buffet supper. It was tasty, but I think a new flavor for most of my deep-south family and went over so-so. Everyone thought it was sweet potatoes before they tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Added apple cider while simmering. gave it a whole new tase and was just wonderful. Served it for Thanksgiving. My guest couldn't get enough. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I make a similar recipe. Saute bacon pieces, remove bacon saving for garnish. Saute onion and squash in bacon fat. Use fresh sage over the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States