Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
very good. a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
It is a delicious and easy recipe. I was glad to see a recipe that could keep the squash in cubes; not mashed. THANKS; A WONDERFUL RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Made this as a vegetable alternative for Thanksgiving and the dieters in the group loved it. (no brown sugar, cream of mushroom soup, heavy cream, etc.!) The only reason I gave it four stars is that some people found the texture and appearance less appealing than the taste. I found that it takes far longer to soften the squash in this way, so I would recommend the oven method, if you have oven space. This makes a ton of squash, so be warned and don't underestimate the size of pan you will need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Floyd, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Good recipe if you LIKE squash. I was surprised by some of the negative reviews of people who thought the dish would be sweeter. I did as another reviewer suggested and added a little ground ginger and coriander to the onions as they were cooking. My whole family thought this was a delicious recipe for butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I made this for my hubby and toddler because of the good reviews. However, we were disappointed. My toddler wouldn't even eat it, but my hubby and I made it through a helping each. I told him I didn't think I would make it again based on the work involved and the end product..."thank you" was his response.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
We split on this one. 2 for 2 against. I felt the squash needed some sweetness added. The flavor was boring. Looked nice. Not giving up on butternut squash, but this recipe wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Very good. We prepare it as in the recipe. We've served it to guests on many occasions and they've always loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBRECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was great. I cooked it on medium and it was much quicker and still had great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very good, I also baked in over before cutting and peeling. Very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I loved it! I had to use dried parsley out of necessity. Be sure that you don't cut the squash pieces too large because it will increase the cooking time. Next time, I'll double the recipe and serve it with plain couscous. This is a nice meatless dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States