Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
very tasty- i used the precut butternut squash i found in the market and added the cranberries suggested by other users- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la0sa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Husband and kids hated it. I thought it was just OK. Wierd flavor combination and we are and adventuresome bunch. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I think this is about the most delicious way you could possibly cook squash. If I could, I'd give it a 4.5 star rating. Through no fault of the recipe, it failed to catch on with my family. I will probably still make it for myself because I really liked it. My only complaint is that the toasted pecans are SOOOO good, but then they get soggy after a couple of hours if you sprinkle them on the dish. I think they need to be kept seperate until the dish is served - even if you have leftovers. Warm up the leftovers, and THEN add the pecans so that hearty crunch is still present. The texture contrast of the crispy pecans with the soft squash is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Very good. Use a sturdy vegetable peeler then slice and cube. Is best w/ butter but I reduced by a TBSP. When cooking butternut squash, be generous w/ the salt and pepper. I added garlic and at others suggestions, coriander, ginger, & parmesan. Is beautiful served over rice & paired w/ a green veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
delicious, especially with cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I thought this was really good and I liked not having to cook the squash for an hour. I cut it up in small chunks like others advised and it worked out great! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Delicious! Peel with a vegetable peeler for ease, forget nuking in the micro, it makes the squash too smooshy. Don't fiddle with the seasonings, it's perfect the way it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
so so at first, but after refridgerating overnight and eating cold the next day i'd definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is such a wonderful, simple, different, and delicious recipe! My husband swore that he hated squash and would not eat it no matter what. This recipe changed everything for him, and he now loves all kinds of squash, new vegetables, etc. It's easy to get stuck in a rut with squash and always do the same thing. This is a refreshing change, yet it's still so simple and familiar. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Awesome recipe. I didn't have pecans so I used walnuts and pinenuts instead, they worked great. My whole family loved it including my very picky 4-year old son. Definitely a recipe to make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States