Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was so yummy! I didn't think the squash would cook well like this but it was delicious! I can't wait to make it for Christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Not bad. I think I will add brown sugar next time. Did not have pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
i would give it 5 stars for the taste, but my hand was dead by the time i was finished peeling and cutting it. too much work. it was definitely tasty, tho. my husband found a good "mashed" version on here that was just as tasty and much less work. thanks for the recipe tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missi.spirito

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This recipe is very good. I ended up slowly sauteeing it for a long time, and it was tender and tasty. It was easy to adapt to my tastes; I like some salt and pepper. Next time I make it, I think I'll add some ginger, too. To peel the squash, I cut it in half the long way (stem to blossom) and after cleaning out the seeds, I laid it down, cut side down and cut it into 1 to 2 inch wide slices. I then was able to slip a paring knife under the skin and remove it quickly. It only took a few minutes to peel it that way. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe is unbelievably awesome! Every person I've made it for agrees. I make this all the time for all sorts of events... it went to last year's superbowl party, and due to popular demand, will be back this year! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
For the type of recipie this is, it is excellent! My whole family enjoyed it. I used splenda brown sugar to make it a little more sweet without adding too much sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Luckily I tried this recipe before I served it to guests. I followed the recipe to a tee. It was awful! Please think twice before making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This did not taste good at all. We even tried adding brown sugar and it still doesn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunkirk, New York, USA
Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is a great concept, but I felt that the onions were overpowering. I will make this again, and for my taste try less onion, or a milder onion. Thanks for the recipe! Tip: I found the squash easier to peel cut in quarters and placed standing on a cutting board. I also used a paring knife which was much easier to navagate than a peeler, or a larger knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Good easy recipe. After I peeled my squash I baked it in the oven while I toasted the pecans. Nice alternative from a sweeter squash dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States