Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This is a great recipe. The flavors all come out and blend together so nicely, and the toasted pecans also add crunch. And it's so pretty!! I used buttercup squash, and it turned out just fine. I've never cut up squash before, so I didn't know what I was getting into. Perhaps it could be softened in the oven first. Wonderful for this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This is absolutely HEAVENLY !!! Make sure you toast the pecans first, it makes a huge difference... I toast lots extra and crumble them on salads for lunches during the week...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I substituted olive oil for the butter as it's healthier. It was nice to find a recipe that didn't have brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I love squash and I am always looking for new ways to make it. I loved this and the only thing I did differently was add some garlic and ceyenne pepper. I am giving this a 4* rating because my husband didn't like it (he doesn't like winter squash that much, so only a feew recipes make the grade for him) but for me it was a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
This was a great recipe. I have only tasted "sweet" squash recipes before, and didn't really like them. I cut the butternut in half and put a little butter, olive oil, and s&p on and baked at 400 for about 30 minutes. This made it very easy to peel and cube. Then added to the onions etc. and just sauteed til totally tender. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Delicious! I didn't have as much butternut squash as called for, but I had some freshly cooked pumpkin in the fridge, and just made up the difference with that. I also used less onion for my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I have never cooked a squash in my life and halfway through trying to chop through the darned thing without losing a finger I decided that this was one recipe that I'd never make again. Its just not worth losing a limb over, you know? But after the dust had settled and I had my first bite of this amazing concoction, I had to change my mind. THIS IS DEFINITELY WORTH LOSING A FINGER. Maybe even two. This was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend following the recipe and using toasted pecans, fresh parsley, and butter - you won't regret it. Thank you, Christine L.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I used sliced almonds instead of pecans and added some garlic to the mix... and microwaved the squash first to get it cooked ... added the squash to the onions and butter and almonds, which I toasted in the oven (yum) and mashed them together then baked in the oven till heated through - topped with more toasted almonds. Everyone raved about this recipe and it will become a favorite to take to family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This is a great side dish for any type of main dish. Just the right combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Excellent! The sauteed onions and roasted pecans really make this dish. Next time, I might try it with olive oil instead of butter (just to save on the saturated fat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States