Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
We have been making this recipe for a while, and love it. The changes I always make are: 1)microwave the cubed squash for about 5 minutes before it goes into the pan...makes it cook much faster, and more evenly; 2)add craisins...makes it pretty and delicious; 3)sprinkle on a little cinnamon and a tiny bit of cayenne. We really love this dish. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
I really liked this recipe. I especially liked the fact that I could prepare it early and then heat just before the meal was served. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made this for dinner last night and thought it was really good. I did microwave the squash for about 5 minutes in a shallow dish of water to make it easier to cute. The only thing I would adjust is the amount of onion - I felt it was a little overbearing so I think I'll only use half the amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
quick and delicious any time of the year. I had buttenut squash coming in from the garden and wanted a new idea. Great hit with my family. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
Great hit at Thanksgiving....my 10 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This recipe received the highest reviews from my DH (who grew up hating squash) and 5-yr old son (who has never shown an interest.) DH told me "Never change a thing!" The crunch of the pecans, sweetness of the sauteed onions and slight contrast of parsely were perfect. It was cooked *slightly* unevenly, which I take credit for not stirring very often, but no one even cared about the 1/8 slightly harder pieces. Not only will I make this again, I won't change a thing and have been threatened if I *don't* make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle74
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The in-laws had me find/print this recipe for them and the Thanksgiving crowd LOVED it! My father in law mentioned that he wouldn't want to cut the squash for a living, but the end result was a huge hit, even for the "picky" eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
my husband made this for dinner last night and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I am not fond of butternut squash but this is wonderful. Used dried parsley instead of fresh but otherwise followed the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Yummy Yummy. I used some different squashes but it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States