Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I've served this dish every Thanksgiving since 2003 and it's always a hit. Make it as-written the first time and then adjust if you see fit. It's delcious as-is. Here are some simple things you can do to make this dish a success with less work: 1) Buy the pre-cut butternut squash--your pieces will be the same size and will be more likely to cook evenly. 2) You can't always substitute dried parsley for fresh and you shouldn't in this dish. It won't be as good, so don't blame the recipe and rate it lower if you do this and don't care for it. Use FRESH! 3) Microwaving the squash first to par cook it as another reviewer mentioned is an excellent idea. But, if you don't, no worries. Stir frequently and keep covered...lower your temperature if it starts to stick or cook too quickly. Lower and slower works well for me. It's ok if some of the pieces cook more than others, it gives it a creaminess that my guests enjoy. 4) If you use a nonstick skillet, you can reduce the amount of butter, it's a very buttery dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
The combination was unexpected and fantastic. I substituted walnuts because they were cheaper than pecans and added a teaspoon of vanilla. The vanilla really complemented the squash Usually I cannot follow a recipe, but I did for this one and it paid off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was good, the family liked it with no revisions. Would make again but with a little brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Yummy Yummy. I used some different squashes but it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I think the way this recipe is written should receive 3 stars, but I think with a few changes, it would be 5 stars (so I split the difference and gave it 4). Here is what I did. First, I cut the recipe in half as there were only 3 of us eating it (and one of them was a 2 year old). I sauteed the onions in the butter and while they were cooking, I put the cubed squash in the microwave for 3 minutes to par-cook it. Then I added the squash to the pan with the onion, added 1 Tbsp of brown sugar, salt, cayenne pepper and some craisins. Cooked that for a few minutes covered then added the toasted pecans and served. The end result was really, really good and we will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I am not fond of butternut squash but this is wonderful. Used dried parsley instead of fresh but otherwise followed the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
my husband made this for dinner last night and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle74
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The in-laws had me find/print this recipe for them and the Thanksgiving crowd LOVED it! My father in law mentioned that he wouldn't want to cut the squash for a living, but the end result was a huge hit, even for the "picky" eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
We have been making this recipe for a while, and love it. The changes I always make are: 1)microwave the cubed squash for about 5 minutes before it goes into the pan...makes it cook much faster, and more evenly; 2)add craisins...makes it pretty and delicious; 3)sprinkle on a little cinnamon and a tiny bit of cayenne. We really love this dish. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made this for dinner last night and thought it was really good. I did microwave the squash for about 5 minutes in a shallow dish of water to make it easier to cute. The only thing I would adjust is the amount of onion - I felt it was a little overbearing so I think I'll only use half the amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States