Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Yummy Yummy. I used some different squashes but it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I think the way this recipe is written should receive 3 stars, but I think with a few changes, it would be 5 stars (so I split the difference and gave it 4). Here is what I did. First, I cut the recipe in half as there were only 3 of us eating it (and one of them was a 2 year old). I sauteed the onions in the butter and while they were cooking, I put the cubed squash in the microwave for 3 minutes to par-cook it. Then I added the squash to the pan with the onion, added 1 Tbsp of brown sugar, salt, cayenne pepper and some craisins. Cooked that for a few minutes covered then added the toasted pecans and served. The end result was really, really good and we will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I am not fond of butternut squash but this is wonderful. Used dried parsley instead of fresh but otherwise followed the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
my husband made this for dinner last night and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle74
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
The in-laws had me find/print this recipe for them and the Thanksgiving crowd LOVED it! My father in law mentioned that he wouldn't want to cut the squash for a living, but the end result was a huge hit, even for the "picky" eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
We have been making this recipe for a while, and love it. The changes I always make are: 1)microwave the cubed squash for about 5 minutes before it goes into the pan...makes it cook much faster, and more evenly; 2)add craisins...makes it pretty and delicious; 3)sprinkle on a little cinnamon and a tiny bit of cayenne. We really love this dish. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made this for dinner last night and thought it was really good. I did microwave the squash for about 5 minutes in a shallow dish of water to make it easier to cute. The only thing I would adjust is the amount of onion - I felt it was a little overbearing so I think I'll only use half the amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This recipe received the highest reviews from my DH (who grew up hating squash) and 5-yr old son (who has never shown an interest.) DH told me "Never change a thing!" The crunch of the pecans, sweetness of the sauteed onions and slight contrast of parsely were perfect. It was cooked *slightly* unevenly, which I take credit for not stirring very often, but no one even cared about the 1/8 slightly harder pieces. Not only will I make this again, I won't change a thing and have been threatened if I *don't* make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I tried this recipe sans pecans (since I don't care for them) and it came out fabulous! I also added a teaspoon of brown sugar for a little thick, sweet sauce. With the onions - Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
The squash cooked unevenly (yes, I stirred it), and the whole dish was rather disappointing. Maybe it was the particular squash, I don't know, but I think I'll go back to the usual baked squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States