Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I rate this 3 stars because it was okay. The onions and pecans in it were great. I added cranberry's, cayenne pepper, and used fresh parsley. Also I microwaved the squash before cooking it. It was good and I went back for seconds. Just for the amount of work and time it took to prepare this meal, I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I liked this recipe and will make it again. It had just enough natural sugar in the squash that it didn't need sugar added. My husband really liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I liked this bkz it was a good sidedish without being overly sweet. (Most butternut squash recipes are sweetened with sugar or cream.)However, mixed reviews from the family, kids liked it, DH thought it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
definetly add the nuts, raisins, cayenne pepper and brown sugar as one of the other members recommends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was marvelous. I'm a squash newbie and realized after the fact that I had buttercup rather than butternut squash. The only other thing I changed was that I roasted the pecans in the skillet first instead of using the oven. Great blend of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
great recipe! used brown sugar and walnuts instead of pecans and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I've been looking for new veggie recipes, and this one is excellent! I added craisins, cinnamon, and cayenne pepper as suggested. This dish was colorful and full of flavor! We'll be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Wonderful and easy with only a few ingredients! It's hard to believe this recipe is good for you...it tastes so decadent. The only hard part was cutting the squash....I think next time I might microwave it for a few minutes before trying to cut it up (to soften it a bit)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Thanks for contributing this recipe. I used half butter and half olive oil. Instead of parsley, I minced fresh rosemary and cooked it along with the onions. When time to add the squash, I added 1/4 to 1/2 cup chicken broth for flavor and to aid the squash cooking. Alas, I was out of pecans but will surely add them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
So good. Next time I'll use a little less butter just to make it a bit healtier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States