Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Besides preparing the squash (which is no small feat for a beginner), this dish was very easy and DELICIOUS! I made it over a month ago and my boyfriend is still raving about it. We ate it as the main course with a side salad, but next time I'll definitely make it as a side dish. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gatewood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. We had it with Christmas dinner and it made an excellent side dish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for thanksgiving and it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Good for a seasonal and colorful addition to your table. Not so sure about the make it 4 hours ahead part though as I find that the longer it sits, the browner and mushier it gets. Best served right from the stove to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My family loved this. I used 2 different kinds of squash, a butternut and an acorn to equal the 2 1/2 pounds. Nutty sweet flavor. Will make next year, if not before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My family LOVES this recipe. I add more pecans than necessary, you can never have too many. This is just so fabulous. Quite filling, and is great for left overs, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I think that this would've be better if it were roasted in the oven. I did add cinnamin and vanilla towards to end of cooking. Then sprinkled red pepper flakes over my own serving. Next time, I will not add extras and will roast it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Just made this recipe, its pretty good. Although I think i would put more pecans toasted longer, and more parsley, next time. This dish is not dry at all. microwaving the squash a little does help cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a hit with my guests and my family (Even the finicky 3 year old). I will make it again certianly. I couldn't use the nuts due to allergies so used dried cranberries (as suggested). I too steamed in micro for 5 minutes using about 1/4 cup of chicken broth. This allowed me to cut back on the butter a tiny bit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edie English

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was my first attempt at making butternut squash and it was pretty tasty. I added some cubed zuchini, a Tbl of brown sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla, and craisins. Without the additions I think it would have been fairly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States