Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I didn't think 1 squash was enough for my crowd of 20 so I prepared 1 1/2 times the recipe (about 3 1/2 lbs of squash). That was WAY too much. The recipe was OK. I think you can cut the pecans, and I am a pecan fan...just too many. Also, it needed more flavor. at the last min I ended up adding some brown sugar and garlic salt. It was better...prob won't make again, there are other more appealing squash recipes out there...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Squash so good that even my husband (who really dislikes squash) ate his fair share! Would certainly make this again!!! Love the crunch of the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhmyDLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Creative and delicious with a colorful, interesting presentation. Just added a little garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Yum, definitely needs some brown sugar. Also, should be mashed and then add the toasted pecans. The textures are a lot better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Wonderful recipe for squash! A great treat and anything with pecans works for my family. I served this to company and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Besides preparing the squash (which is no small feat for a beginner), this dish was very easy and DELICIOUS! I made it over a month ago and my boyfriend is still raving about it. We ate it as the main course with a side salad, but next time I'll definitely make it as a side dish. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Very tasty. We had it with Christmas dinner and it made an excellent side dish. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made this for thanksgiving and it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Good for a seasonal and colorful addition to your table. Not so sure about the make it 4 hours ahead part though as I find that the longer it sits, the browner and mushier it gets. Best served right from the stove to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States