Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This recipe was very good as is. I served it to a group of friends, and it was a hit. I made one very slight adjustment. For the sake of time, after a few minutes of cooking on the stove top, I transferred the squash and onion mixture to a cookie sheet and roasted it in a 400 degree oven. I did this so that it would cook faster because I was running late. I did everything else as stated in the recipe. I think it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Yum! I followed previous suggestions and also sprinkled a bit of cayenne pepper, a healthy sprinkle of cinnamon and a few table spoons of brown sugar. My family loves this recipe, with or without, the toasted pecans which I always seem to forget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
The end result was very good. I tried the dish a couple of times while cooking, and found it to be very bland at first. A little more salt and the pecans were the final touches that it needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Amazingly easy, impressively tasty. Even my semi-picky son loved it. I've made it twice now, and the only thing I've done differently (based on other reviews) was to add a little brown sugar and vanilla. I'll be making this often. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I love this recipe. I make it every Thanksgiving and always get great reviews. I always use fresh parsley and sometimes sub with walnuts if I don't have pecans. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for..an easy and delicious recipe for my favorite squash. I omitted the parsley but did not miss it. I will be making this again and again. Thanks Christine L.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I think this recipe is great. Make sure not to overcook the squash and cut the onions up pretty well. Since I am paleo-dieting, I used olive oil in place of the butter. For presentation, I like to cut the squash into circles or half moons, instead of just cubes, but it doesn't matter taste-wise. I put probably a half teaspoon each of salt and pepper in there. I used walnuts because I didn't have pecans. I also didn't weigh my squash, I just used one squash, however much that is. But everything turned out great, and I don't even really like squash, I was just trying it because I am trying to save money on paleo food and squash isn't too expensive. But this was so good, I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I followed the other reviews that mentioned the ease of par-cooking the squash in the microwave before adding it to sauteed onions. I tasted the recipe after seasoning as directed and it was good, but I decided to add cayenne and cinnamon as others suggested and it put it over the top! I made this when my parents were over and it was well-liked around the table! Will make again with the cinnamon and cayenne for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I find it hard to measure ingredients by pounds, so I used 3 cups of mashed squash to 1/3 cup of onions. I toasted the pecans in the micro wave but almost burned them.It was quite wet looking, so I baked it in the oven. My family realy liked it. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Worked well as a fall like veggie dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States