Butternut Squash With Cranberries and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
***note, I messed this one up, but it turned out amazing*** Okay, so I was trying to impress a date, and looked around for some unusual, but easy recipes. This one seemed to fit the bill. I gave it a try, but I over cooked the squash. When I tried to brown it, it turned to mush. I was too committed to give up (I didn't have anything else to cook!) so I just went with it, and it was AMAZING! After I boiled the squash, onions, and dried cranberries, I tired to economize with the upcoming dish duty, so I put the butter and oil in the same pot that I boiled the squash in. After it got hot, I threw the squash/onions/cranberries back in and it all turned to mush when I started to turn the squash. At that point, I just turned it into a mashed potato-style dish, and it was tasting pretty good. My date had a sweet tooth, so I turned the tablespoon of brown sugar into 1/4 cup and added a teaspoon of allspice for kicks. When it was done, it looked like mashed sweet potatoes with a parmesan on top (I forgot the almonds b/c I tasted it and didn't want to stop eating it), and it was a huge hit. Moral of the story... the flavors going into this dish are pretty versatile, so feel free to experiment with it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
i have to say, i liked this much more than i thought i would. i put it together a little differently; but used all the same ingredients. Thanks for the post LCjynx, i would not have thought to put these things together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I really liked this! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have a red onion so I just used a regular sweet onion that I had on hand. I think a red onion would have made it prettier. I liked the mix of sweet and salty flavors in this dish. I think this would make a wonderful side dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This exceeded my expectations. It had a depth of flavor and textures that was very delicious. I made a few changes. I boiled the squash and 1/3 cup cranberries. I then cooked the onions in in the butter mixture along with 3 tablespoons of brown sugar. After adding the squash, I added 1/4 cup of almonds and 1/3 cup of parmesan. Everyone in the family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mewantfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
DH and I loved this dish tonight! I used Splenda brown sugar blend since DH is diabetic, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The squash was falling apart rather than browning in the skillet before I turned off the heat, but the flavors of savory and sweet mixed together were delicious. Thanks LCyjnx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Interesting combination. Not sure I'll make it again, but good enough for a second helping! We followed the directions exactly, except that I had to use yellow onion instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. Results were good but not outstanding. Will probably try again but add maybe some cinnamon. It was a little bland,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Followed it to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States