Butternut Squash With Cranberries and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I really liked this! I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have a red onion so I just used a regular sweet onion that I had on hand. I think a red onion would have made it prettier. I liked the mix of sweet and salty flavors in this dish. I think this would make a wonderful side dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This exceeded my expectations. It had a depth of flavor and textures that was very delicious. I made a few changes. I boiled the squash and 1/3 cup cranberries. I then cooked the onions in in the butter mixture along with 3 tablespoons of brown sugar. After adding the squash, I added 1/4 cup of almonds and 1/3 cup of parmesan. Everyone in the family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mewantfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Interesting combination. Not sure I'll make it again, but good enough for a second helping! We followed the directions exactly, except that I had to use yellow onion instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
i have to say, i liked this much more than i thought i would. i put it together a little differently; but used all the same ingredients. Thanks for the post LCjynx, i would not have thought to put these things together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
DH and I loved this dish tonight! I used Splenda brown sugar blend since DH is diabetic, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The squash was falling apart rather than browning in the skillet before I turned off the heat, but the flavors of savory and sweet mixed together were delicious. Thanks LCyjnx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
***note, I messed this one up, but it turned out amazing*** Okay, so I was trying to impress a date, and looked around for some unusual, but easy recipes. This one seemed to fit the bill. I gave it a try, but I over cooked the squash. When I tried to brown it, it turned to mush. I was too committed to give up (I didn't have anything else to cook!) so I just went with it, and it was AMAZING! After I boiled the squash, onions, and dried cranberries, I tired to economize with the upcoming dish duty, so I put the butter and oil in the same pot that I boiled the squash in. After it got hot, I threw the squash/onions/cranberries back in and it all turned to mush when I started to turn the squash. At that point, I just turned it into a mashed potato-style dish, and it was tasting pretty good. My date had a sweet tooth, so I turned the tablespoon of brown sugar into 1/4 cup and added a teaspoon of allspice for kicks. When it was done, it looked like mashed sweet potatoes with a parmesan on top (I forgot the almonds b/c I tasted it and didn't want to stop eating it), and it was a huge hit. Moral of the story... the flavors going into this dish are pretty versatile, so feel free to experiment with it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. Results were good but not outstanding. Will probably try again but add maybe some cinnamon. It was a little bland,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Followed it to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States